Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This pie is a favorite of mine...I was raised in England and Rhubarb Pie was always on the menu on Sundays....since coming to this country I have added a twist to the pie by adding 2 cups of fresh strawberries to the mix and extra sugar 1/2 a cup...try it....it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My daughter and I made this recipe with a homemade butter pie crust. It turned out to be delicious although my daughter wouldn't eat it because there was a vegetable in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakeeta
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good! I changed it a little bit by adding 2 cups of sugar instead of one and a half. I also added 4 cups of rhubarb and not 3, plus 1 cup of raspberries. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was my first time ever baking with rhubarb, or even tasting it. So I didn't know what to expect. I found that the filling wasnt quite enough, but other than that, the recipe was good. I gave it 3 stars, not because of the recipe, but I am undecided about rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This pie is my absolute favorite pie to make! I use my fiancee's great grandma's crust recipe. The first time I made this pie, I used this recipe. It turns out AMAZING every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haylee_d18

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I can't believe anyone ADDED sugar! I used 4 cups of rhubarb and nutmeg and all I could taste was sugar!!! Very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rick_reasor
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe!!!! Turned out so good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick_reasor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
its still a lil bit jiggly in the middle. Ive never made one before but i may have used a lil bit more butter..giving it another go around in the oven..smells wonderful though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious and easy! Will definitely be making this recipe in the future. We've had rhubarb growing in our garden for a while now and I finally got around to doing something with it. I am really glad I did, because this was a very easy recipe to make, and it tastes, oh so good! This considering the fact that I did not even use new rhubarb shoots, but older stems. The filling still turned out really well. The pie took 55 minutes to bake instead of 45 as it says in the recipe, and the pastry (I used Krusteaz) on top still did not look brown (gotta remember to whisk with egg next time!), just pale yellow, but I made sure that the pie was cooked through by sticking a knife into the filling part. Also, the pie is very leaky once you cut it, it may be because it needs to go into the fridge after it cools, or perhaps I should add a bit more flour to the filling next time. I did not find the pie to be too tart unlike some other users. I think 1.5 c sugar is plenty for 3 c rhubarb. The most enjoyable part of making this (other than tasting it) was weaving the top crust. All in all, just stick with this straight forward recipe and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The pie is absolutely delicious, best I ever had! The bad news is it is watery. I made two more one with 2 tblsps of flour and the other with 2 tblsps corn starch.....still watery. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States