Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
These muffins are AWESOME! Some reviews say not to use the nutmeg. I really liked the nutmeg and would keep it in. The topping on these muffins really makes them complete. I will make these every summer with my rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iron-mom
Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Texture too dense, almost doughy. Nutmeg on top awful. Taste of tart rhubarb good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I'm not an experienced baker, but these were easy and delicious. I did use quite a bit more rhubarb, probably 1 3/4 cups. I love rhubarb so I'd bump it up to 2 cups, or perhaps have the rhubarb cut in bigger chunks, mine was cut in about 1/2 inch dice. The yogurt I had is plain Greek, so I used a bit less and splashed in some milk to compensate for the thicker texture, then splashed in some vanilla. Usually I skip things like the topping for this recipe, but I'm glad I bothered since it added such personality to the muffins. I toasted the almonds before grinding them, makes a huge difference. I loved these, very moist and not too too many calories for such a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Yummy! I substituted melted coconut oil for the butter and oil. I used Bob's Redmill gluten free flour. I followed another review and used sour cream and vanilla. I didn't have yogurt. Used 1-1/2 cups rhubarb. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This recipe is fantastic. My husband said these are the best muffins I've ever made. Followed the recipe exactly, but only got 9 muffins out of it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
My favorite recipes are ones that you can improvise with and still turn out terrific! I halved this and it made 4 jumbo muffins. Used sour cream and butter (no oil), doubled the rhubarb (frozen, thawed) and will quadruple it next time (we love rhubarb!). Added 1 tsp vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. Topped only with a very light sprinkling of brown sugar; too lazy to make the topping and didn't think it would need it. So simple, quick, and easy to make and a real stand-out, unique dessert with a great balance of fruit and very moist, light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Quite delicious!! Cooked up great and I loved the topping. Will be doing this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Everyone in my family enjoyed these, however, the kids don't like big chunks of fruit in their muffins, so I decided to put the cup of diced rhubarb into the food processor, which, when blended only amounted to about a half a cup, which, when cooked, gave absolutely zero rhubarb flavor. The muffins had a great texture and the sugary topping was delicious. I'd like to add more rhubarb next time but not sure if that will affect how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I admit first of all that I am a rhubarb lover. Having said that, I think these are my favorite muffin ever. I go a little short on the sugar as it is a bit too sweet for me otherwise. Don't scrimp on the rhubarb! Today I used 2/3 cup of rhubarb and 2/3 cup of blueberries. Both were frozen so I partially thawed them in the microwave and drained off the liquid before folding them into the batter. They were wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States