Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Nearly perfect--I substituted sour cream for the yogurt and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I kept all else the same. No doubt it's a pretty muffin with a very attractive and tasty topping and just the right amount of sweetness. However, unless you're a big fan of nutmeg, either reduce the amount to a mere dash or eliminate it altogether--I tasted it a little more than I liked and found it distracting. At the same time, I found the rhubarb a little lacking, so I would definitely recommend increasing it to 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I am really impressed with this recipe. I love the yogurt in the mix, I used strawberry and plain yogurt instead of Vanilla and I also used half whole wheat flour with a bit of flax seed to make them a bit healthier. They taste great, the topping makes it really nice also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Loved eating and making these muffins. Very tasty and moist. I did not have vanilla yogert so I used sour cream and vanilla extract and also added 1 1/2 rhubarb and used less sugar. Turned out great. Will make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Mmmmm!!! I followed the whole-wheat flour suggestion (substituting the full amount of all-purpose for whole wheat flour) for a healthier kick. Also added about five blueberries to each muffin after the batter had been spooned into the tin, and before the topping was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Really good. To make them a bit healthier, I left the topping out, adding the spices in with the dry, and I subbed whole wheat flour for white. They turned out lovely, light and tasty. I left my rhubarb peices too big and some bites are quite tart, so I would reccomend a fine dice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I guess I'm just echoing a lot of the previous praise, but I really liked these muffins. Like several other reviewers, I tried to make them more healthful. I used all whole-wheat flour (I'm usually leery of doing this; in general, I replace only half or a little more of the amount of white flour with whole wheat. But I used white whole wheat; maybe that made a difference.) I also skipped the topping, but included the cinnamon & nutmeg in the dry ingredients. And I did 3T of canola oil & only 1T of butter. The only change I'd consider next time is in the spices: I thought the nutmeg flavor was a little too strong, so I think next time I'll cut it back a little. If it still needs tweaking, I might increase the cinnamon. Also, be prepared for very dry batter--I would have been nervous about that if I hadn't already read here about it. I will definitely make these again. My kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
These are the muffins I've been looking for! Light, fluffy, tons of flavor, sweet enough to compensate for tangy rhubarb & the topping is awsome! Baked up nice and big. Looking forward to trying with apples or cranberries as well! Also, didn't use muffin tin liners, just sprayed tins with Pam and the came out really nice. Also used another reviewers advice and used 1/2 c sour cream and tsp vanilla instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These muffins are very moist, tender, and delicious. I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour, which gave more of a hearty, nutty, whole-grain flavor. I diced the rhubarb fairly finely, maybe 1/4" pieces, and it sort of melted into the muffins. I might make the pieces larger next time, since I like discernible pieces of fruit in my muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
lovely muffin. great texture and delicate flavor. next time i will double the topping recipe, which i ran out of before the end so i left a couple bald, but still very good. i also plan to greatly increase the rhubarb next time, which means i'll have to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
These are very yummy muffins as far as muffins go, and I like that you can use notfat yogurt to keep them relatively healthy. However, I love my rhubarb and try to use it in the ways that I will be able to most appreciate it, and this is not one of them. These muffins are not very rhubarb-y -- they are lacking the kick that I expect from rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States