Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I got 21 muffins out of a double recipe. I used a generous measure of brown sugar for the topping and had lots. I used 1/2 the nutmeg as recommended and added a bit of fresh orange peel because I used plain yogurt. I also used 1 cup of apple and 2 of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
A very tasty recipe and a great way to use up the huge amount of rhubarb I had! I like that it's not too sweet and relatively healthy with the limited fat and when substituting WW pastry flour. I was too short on prep. time to make it into muffins, so I made a triple batch and made it into 2 generous loaves (baking time about 60-75 minutes for the loaves). A few modifications to the single recipe that tasted great: *Took other reviewers' advice and reduced nutmeg by half *Used all whole wheat pastry flour *Increased to 1 1/2 c rhubarb *Added 1/4 tsp cinnamon to batter. Kept streusel cinnamon as printed in recipe. *Reduced brown sugar in streusel to 2 1/2 Tbsp *I used all canola oil in the muffin/bread part and then butter just for the streusel. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I doubled the recipe and got 18 medium to large muffins. I omitted the butter, halved the sugar, substituted whole wheat flour, used 3 cups rhubarb and just sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar instead of the topping, I don't like nutmeg and no nuts at school, well at least not the edible kind ;) Very tasty and not as tart as I thought they would be, very moist from the yogurt. Will definitely make again now that I have 5 rhubarb plants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Really good, but next time I'll just leave off the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
lovely muffins. I doubled the amount of rhubarb and added chocolate chips! For a low fat version, you can leave out the butter and vegetable oil and add one banana and egg substitute. My kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These were a great varation of a ordinary everyday muffin, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Photo by TINALLLL
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Fantastic! Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Nearly perfect--I substituted sour cream for the yogurt and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I kept all else the same. No doubt it's a pretty muffin with a very attractive and tasty topping and just the right amount of sweetness. However, unless you're a big fan of nutmeg, either reduce the amount to a mere dash or eliminate it altogether--I tasted it a little more than I liked and found it distracting. At the same time, I found the rhubarb a little lacking, so I would definitely recommend increasing it to 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Pretty good. I was a little worried because the mix was pretty stiff, but they came out nice and light. Next time I think I will use whole wheat flour for a bit more flavour. I also followed what some people did which was add some blueberries - which was good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
yummy! This is an awesome recipe. I used organic whole wheat flour and less sugar than recommended. It was great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: March Town, Hanover, Jamaica
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States