Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Wow, these were awesome! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used whole wheat flour in place of the all-purpose flour. I also added more rhubarb (about 1 1/2 cups total). They turned out moist and very flavorful - this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These were good but just lacked the rhubarb punch I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
One of the best I've had! They stayed moist of days and had a lovely texture to them. I wouldn't alter the recipe at all,as they were too good to mess with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very tasty! Next I'll make it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I made these last night and was pleasantly surprised despite my super thick batter. I did make some changes which could have been the reason behind my thick batter. I used all whole wheat flour, substituted applesauce for both the butter and oil and used half vanilla yogurt and half sour cream (only because I didn't have enough yogurt). I also only had 1/2 of brown sugar on hand (I guess I need to go grocery shopping!). I used about 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb and omitted the brown sugar topping but put the spices (I actually used "apple pie spice") in the batter. I added a splash of skim milk so I could get all the dry ingredients mixed in. These are super moist and I love the tangy sweet flavor the rhubarb gives them. Some reviewers said they didn't care for the rhubarb "melting" into the muffins, but I thought it was fantastic! My husband was bummed I used up all the rhubarb and is insisting we get more this weekend so I can make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
absolutely delicious! I added blueberries and skipped on the nutmeg. I added a banana instead of the butter. I made these for my family and they were gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
We loved these. I will try to swirl the topping in a bit next time as I found that it crumbled off a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
yum! made as directed except without the nutmeg, and added a touch of almond extract and extra rhubarb of course. these won't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I got 21 muffins out of a double recipe. I used a generous measure of brown sugar for the topping and had lots. I used 1/2 the nutmeg as recommended and added a bit of fresh orange peel because I used plain yogurt. I also used 1 cup of apple and 2 of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
A very tasty recipe and a great way to use up the huge amount of rhubarb I had! I like that it's not too sweet and relatively healthy with the limited fat and when substituting WW pastry flour. I was too short on prep. time to make it into muffins, so I made a triple batch and made it into 2 generous loaves (baking time about 60-75 minutes for the loaves). A few modifications to the single recipe that tasted great: *Took other reviewers' advice and reduced nutmeg by half *Used all whole wheat pastry flour *Increased to 1 1/2 c rhubarb *Added 1/4 tsp cinnamon to batter. Kept streusel cinnamon as printed in recipe. *Reduced brown sugar in streusel to 2 1/2 Tbsp *I used all canola oil in the muffin/bread part and then butter just for the streusel. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States