Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great tasting muffin. Yes the topping is a little messy but I always use paper muffin cups and it wasn't an issue. I made sure to chop the rhubarb quite fine and press the mixture into the cups gently to fill. I used less sugar than required about 1/3 cup for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good! I scaled the recipe to 8 servings and still came out with 12 normal size muffins... UPDATE 7/14: got 15 muffins out of the batch this time. I left out the walnuts. Took more like 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These were okay. We discovered we prefer rhubarb pie, crunch or coffee cake to muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I should have read the reviews before I made these muffins. You definitely need the chop the rhubarb finely, otherwise it's just not really a muffin. The flavors are ok but could use some spicing up. Also it is way too dry for a muffin batter and could use some more baking soda or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these for a friend who is lactose intolerant and on a low-sugar diet. So I used Alpro vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and Stevia natural sweetener instead of sugar (available from health shops). They came out a little dry but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I didn't enjoy these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This recipe is quite good. It should be noted to chop rhubarb finely. My husband didn't care for the sugar topping - too sugary. The texture of the muffin is quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I think this is a successful non-fat muffin, with a couple of considerations. First, as with any muffin, chop the fruit small. As my rhubarb was already sliced into 1/8"-1/4" slices, cutting largest ones in half or thirds was tedious but worth it. Second, for more taste, I used some oat "flour" in the batter: I whirled 1 cup of Quick oats in food-processor, and substituted it for white flour (about 1/2 c.?) Third, I'll add a bit more salt next time: 1 1/4 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I also thought that the lack of a fat in the recipe might have been a mistake, but when you look at it as a non-fat recipe, it is good! My topping didn't melt (did I use too little butter?) but did end up looking like chunks of crushed ice perched on the muffin tops. I think I'll just sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
The muffins didn't turn out as I expected - very heavy - not cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Isn't it odd that this doesn't contain any oil or butter? The topping was too much and melted off of the muffins and all over my pan and oven. Taste of muffins would be enhanced by some sort of oil or shortening---a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States