Rhubarb Meringue Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is another recipe that has been in my RB for quite some time. Having an abundance of rhubarb I was searching for something new and different to make. BINGO!! Rather than make these into squares, I opted to do it in a tart pan and cut it into slices. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I used the two egg yolks in place of the 1 egg in the crust and also added the few remaining strawberries I had in the fridge to the cooked rhubarb. Absolutely delicious and beautiful dessert. Thanks for sharing and I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Over all this was not a bad recipe. The rhubarb set well and the meringue actually went well with the coconut. I didn't like the crust it was too soft even with an extra 5 minutes of baking. I will try this again but next time I will make a crisper, more shortbread like crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I made these squares for an open house at my church and everyone loved them! They looked lovely too. A great way to use up some of my abundant rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was a very nice recipe, a bit time consuming, but not difficult to make. It was basically rhubarb meringue pie but baked as squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I love rhubarb but do not care for this... The coconut does not go with it.... The crust is tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDYANDY6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I was really impressed with this recipe! I followed the instructions (just omitted the coconut) and they turned out perfect! They are very easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Inspired by reviewer Avon's photos, I also baked this in a 10 inch tart pan, and it looked beautiful. I added a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon in the crust and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the filling after it had cooled slightly before putting it in the crust. I used frozen rhubarb which after thawing had rhubarb liquid that I used in place of the water in the filling. I also omitted the coconut from the top. I thought this was a nice change from the usual rhubarb cobbler & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Tasty. Instead of using one whole egg in the crust, I used the yolks from the meringue whites. I made it in a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is very similar to a rhubarb square recipe my nan makes, so I was really excited to try it. It turned out great! It is time consuming, but if you like rhubarb it's a nice way to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Nice combination of flavours, the crust puffed up more than I anticipated, my husband gobbled this one up, a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States