Rhubarb Meringue Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was a very nice recipe, a bit time consuming, but not difficult to make. It was basically rhubarb meringue pie but baked as squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Over all this was not a bad recipe. The rhubarb set well and the meringue actually went well with the coconut. I didn't like the crust it was too soft even with an extra 5 minutes of baking. I will try this again but next time I will make a crisper, more shortbread like crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I made these squares for an open house at my church and everyone loved them! They looked lovely too. A great way to use up some of my abundant rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I was really impressed with this recipe! I followed the instructions (just omitted the coconut) and they turned out perfect! They are very easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Nice combination of flavours, the crust puffed up more than I anticipated, my husband gobbled this one up, a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is very similar to a rhubarb square recipe my nan makes, so I was really excited to try it. It turned out great! It is time consuming, but if you like rhubarb it's a nice way to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Tasty. Instead of using one whole egg in the crust, I used the yolks from the meringue whites. I made it in a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I love rhubarb but do not care for this... The coconut does not go with it.... The crust is tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDYANDY6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is another recipe that has been in my RB for quite some time. Having an abundance of rhubarb I was searching for something new and different to make. BINGO!! Rather than make these into squares, I opted to do it in a tart pan and cut it into slices. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I used the two egg yolks in place of the 1 egg in the crust and also added the few remaining strawberries I had in the fridge to the cooked rhubarb. Absolutely delicious and beautiful dessert. Thanks for sharing and I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Inspired by reviewer Avon's photos, I also baked this in a 10 inch tart pan, and it looked beautiful. I added a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon in the crust and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the filling after it had cooled slightly before putting it in the crust. I used frozen rhubarb which after thawing had rhubarb liquid that I used in place of the water in the filling. I also omitted the coconut from the top. I thought this was a nice change from the usual rhubarb cobbler & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States