Rhubarb Meringue Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Light, sweet, tart. This is my favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I have used a very similar recipe for years. It's a wonderful dessert and my family loves it. The only things I do different is I substitute a 6 oz package of strawberry jello for part of the sugar in the filling and I use half and half instead of whipping cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Baked this dessert two days in a row and absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I made this recipe a few weeks ago and it was a huge hit at home and at the sewing class I teach, I took it for my students to have with coffee. I did not use cream but used natural plain yogurt instead, everything else I did the same. I did think this a bit sweet and could easily halve the sugar in the filling next time. My 12 year old who is not a fan of rhubarb ate several servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First of all, does anyone know a reason why (food science related for example) we would want to refrigerate this dessert? I grew up on this and we always served it warm and fresh. I can't imagine why anyone would want the flavor suppressing result of chilling. Also, don't see why anyone would want to save leftovers in the moist cold environment of a refrigerator. I have some sitting on the counter right now, baked two days ago. Okay, now that the rant is over, I have a suggestion for small families and singles who want to have this without massive quantities of leftovers. Use the calculate feature to size the recipe to your approximate needs. I cut the recipe in half. Then I baked the crust separately, in a shallow metal pan (8 X 8). I baked the rhubarb custard in a buttered square glass baking dish, half-hour or so in the microwave, then the remaining 15 minutes in the oven, just to get the oven to temp for the meringue. Turns out very well, and I can assemble for serving. This way the custard is not soaking into the crust for days on end. The meringue has held up very well. I got so much meringue from the three eggs that I will try a four serving size using two eggs to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Really enjoyed this by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
The only way to improve this dessert is sprinkle coconut on the meringue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I did not have the success the other reviewers had. Baking the crust and custard for 50 - 60 mins. is just too long. My crust came out dark brown and 4 cups of rhubarb would have been better than 5. It's all rhubarb and not much custard. I lost my recipe from the Milwaukee Sentinel. I found it when they used to have a separate food book in the paper. It was a recipe from Grace Howaneic if anyone has this recipe I would love to get it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Don't need to use whipping cream. I used 1% milk and it still turned out heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was really easy to make and turned out unbelievably delicious. I made it for a brunch in the morning and took leftovers to a dinner later in the day and had rave reviews and people asking for seconds at both occasions. It is the perfect mixture of sweet and tart and the different textures of the crust and the filling are delicious. I am definitely making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States