Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe made more of a fruit spread than a jam in consistency for me. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was the first time I made jam. It was simple and it turned out amazing! THe only thing I did different was omit the water and mixed the sugar and rhubabrb & let it stand in the ffridge for several hours (It was an unintentional necessity). I gave my mom a jar and she had it gone that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe. I however added a little cinnamon and about 1/2 package of pectin to thicken it..I tried it without the orange juice once and it wasn't as good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
strong orange flavor - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love Rhubarb, but don't care to mess it up with berries or anything. This jam, with the added orange zest, and I use fresh squeezed orange juice from that orange that I grate, adds that little something special. My daughter loves it so much, she eats it with a spoon. It's too good to waste on bread. I put a drop or two of red food coloring in it, and watch it carefully, as the cooking time is too long. I usually watch it and can tell when it's ready, about 20 minutes after it comes to a boil. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! Be sure to use fresh orange juice if you can, it makes a world of difference. My test batch went quickly, so I can't wait until next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect and tastes delicious. I got four half pint jars. It might help to know that 1 lb. of rhubarb=3 c. chopped (found this info on this site, rhubarb info.) I can hardly wait for next year's rhubarb, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I love it! The orange is great and it cooked up just perfect. Great Rhubarb flavor and not too sweet. I got 6 cups of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This jam is the perfect balance of sweet and tang. I made the recipe using 3 lbs. of rhubarb and adding 1/4 cup more sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. I think this made for a more jammie consistency (adding more rhubarb).Fresh orange juice and zest is the key. I zested my orange over the pot to get those essential oil in the pot as well. I also figured if I was going to take the time to make jam I might as well process it in jars as well. I did that by sterilizing the jars then filling the hot jars with the hot jam and topping the jar with the lid and ring and processing the jars in a boiling hot water bath for 15 minutes. This is an excellent recipe I will make this again.Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love the pure tart taste of the rhubarb in this recipe. The fresh orange juice added a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States