Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe made more of a fruit spread than a jam in consistency for me. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was the first time I made jam. It was simple and it turned out amazing! THe only thing I did different was omit the water and mixed the sugar and rhubabrb & let it stand in the ffridge for several hours (It was an unintentional necessity). I gave my mom a jar and she had it gone that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe. I however added a little cinnamon and about 1/2 package of pectin to thicken it..I tried it without the orange juice once and it wasn't as good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love Rhubarb, but don't care to mess it up with berries or anything. This jam, with the added orange zest, and I use fresh squeezed orange juice from that orange that I grate, adds that little something special. My daughter loves it so much, she eats it with a spoon. It's too good to waste on bread. I put a drop or two of red food coloring in it, and watch it carefully, as the cooking time is too long. I usually watch it and can tell when it's ready, about 20 minutes after it comes to a boil. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! Be sure to use fresh orange juice if you can, it makes a world of difference. My test batch went quickly, so I can't wait until next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love the pure tart taste of the rhubarb in this recipe. The fresh orange juice added a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I love it! The orange is great and it cooked up just perfect. Great Rhubarb flavor and not too sweet. I got 6 cups of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect and tastes delicious. I got four half pint jars. It might help to know that 1 lb. of rhubarb=3 c. chopped (found this info on this site, rhubarb info.) I can hardly wait for next year's rhubarb, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
strong orange flavor - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This jam is the perfect balance of sweet and tang. I made the recipe using 3 lbs. of rhubarb and adding 1/4 cup more sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. I think this made for a more jammie consistency (adding more rhubarb).Fresh orange juice and zest is the key. I zested my orange over the pot to get those essential oil in the pot as well. I also figured if I was going to take the time to make jam I might as well process it in jars as well. I did that by sterilizing the jars then filling the hot jars with the hot jam and topping the jar with the lid and ring and processing the jars in a boiling hot water bath for 15 minutes. This is an excellent recipe I will make this again.Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States