Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect and tastes delicious. I got four half pint jars. It might help to know that 1 lb. of rhubarb=3 c. chopped (found this info on this site, rhubarb info.) I can hardly wait for next year's rhubarb, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love Rhubarb, but don't care to mess it up with berries or anything. This jam, with the added orange zest, and I use fresh squeezed orange juice from that orange that I grate, adds that little something special. My daughter loves it so much, she eats it with a spoon. It's too good to waste on bread. I put a drop or two of red food coloring in it, and watch it carefully, as the cooking time is too long. I usually watch it and can tell when it's ready, about 20 minutes after it comes to a boil. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was the first time I made jam. It was simple and it turned out amazing! THe only thing I did different was omit the water and mixed the sugar and rhubabrb & let it stand in the ffridge for several hours (It was an unintentional necessity). I gave my mom a jar and she had it gone that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I was trying to find a good pectin recipe because I've never been a fan of using jell-o in a jam. This one uses neither and it works wonderfully! I used 1/3 c orange juice concentrate instead of the juice and zest because it didn't have enough orange flavor (and I forgot to buy an orange). I think 1/3 c concentrate was too much though! Next time maybe 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe. I however added a little cinnamon and about 1/2 package of pectin to thicken it..I tried it without the orange juice once and it wasn't as good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This jam is the perfect balance of sweet and tang. I made the recipe using 3 lbs. of rhubarb and adding 1/4 cup more sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. I think this made for a more jammie consistency (adding more rhubarb).Fresh orange juice and zest is the key. I zested my orange over the pot to get those essential oil in the pot as well. I also figured if I was going to take the time to make jam I might as well process it in jars as well. I did that by sterilizing the jars then filling the hot jars with the hot jam and topping the jar with the lid and ring and processing the jars in a boiling hot water bath for 15 minutes. This is an excellent recipe I will make this again.Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Apparently orange peel & juice is very high in natural pectin and causes this recipe to jell. I've also read that apples are high in pectin. I think I will try a test. One w/ apples and one w/ oranges to see which taste I prefer and whether they set the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Super yummy. I have an excess of rhubarb in my freezer and was wondering what to do with it when I came across this recipe. I had roughly 24 cups of rhubarb and got almost 10 - 500ml jars from 2 batches. I bag my rhubarb in 8-cup bags which is roughly the 2lbs as the recipe stated. I used the suggestion of orange juice concentrate as my oranges didn't yield that much juice. I also cut back on the sugar, adding half stirring and then adding more until I got it right sweet/tart flavor I like. I perked up the color by adding some red food coloring too. It took awhile to make, but all in all, this is a keeper in my new jam recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! Be sure to use fresh orange juice if you can, it makes a world of difference. My test batch went quickly, so I can't wait until next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
WOW! I love this! I love that it can be made from start to finish in under an hour. I love the full rhubarb flavor not diluted by the orange that is in it or any other fruit that are in so many recipes. My husband wanted a sweet enough jam for his taste, so since I increased the sugar until he thought it was enough (4 cups...and I know, holy cow!) to suit his taste. I also increased the rhubarb by 1/2 cup. Since one orange did not yield enough zest, instead of cutting up another orange I added a small amount (maybe half a handful) of orange bits of pulp in place of the missing 1 teaspoon of zest only for the added orange taste and the pectin. It worked perfectly. I always cook my jam by doing the cold plate test, because after one minute on the cold plate from the freezer you know that is how thick or thin the finished product will be. This way I always know if I should add more water to thin it or cook it longer to thicken it. Great stuff, will make sure I always have this on hand, might be hard since I know my son will surely steal it all when he comes to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States