Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This is simple and delicious...goes great with crackers and jam!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I was trying to find a good pectin recipe because I've never been a fan of using jell-o in a jam. This one uses neither and it works wonderfully! I used 1/3 c orange juice concentrate instead of the juice and zest because it didn't have enough orange flavor (and I forgot to buy an orange). I think 1/3 c concentrate was too much though! Next time maybe 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe made more of a fruit spread than a jam in consistency for me. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Tart and tasty, with great rhubarb flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe. I however added a little cinnamon and about 1/2 package of pectin to thicken it..I tried it without the orange juice once and it wasn't as good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love Rhubarb, but don't care to mess it up with berries or anything. This jam, with the added orange zest, and I use fresh squeezed orange juice from that orange that I grate, adds that little something special. My daughter loves it so much, she eats it with a spoon. It's too good to waste on bread. I put a drop or two of red food coloring in it, and watch it carefully, as the cooking time is too long. I usually watch it and can tell when it's ready, about 20 minutes after it comes to a boil. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Apparently orange peel & juice is very high in natural pectin and causes this recipe to jell. I've also read that apples are high in pectin. I think I will try a test. One w/ apples and one w/ oranges to see which taste I prefer and whether they set the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was the first time I made jam. It was simple and it turned out amazing! THe only thing I did different was omit the water and mixed the sugar and rhubabrb & let it stand in the ffridge for several hours (It was an unintentional necessity). I gave my mom a jar and she had it gone that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Flavor is slightly tart - yum! Recipe is a little thin for my preference as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! Be sure to use fresh orange juice if you can, it makes a world of difference. My test batch went quickly, so I can't wait until next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States