Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is good! It only took about 20 minutes of boiling to be done. I'm used to strawberry rhubarb jam, so this is pretty tart compared to the sweetness of the other...but it's good in it's own way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Super yummy. I have an excess of rhubarb in my freezer and was wondering what to do with it when I came across this recipe. I had roughly 24 cups of rhubarb and got almost 10 - 500ml jars from 2 batches. I bag my rhubarb in 8-cup bags which is roughly the 2lbs as the recipe stated. I used the suggestion of orange juice concentrate as my oranges didn't yield that much juice. I also cut back on the sugar, adding half stirring and then adding more until I got it right sweet/tart flavor I like. I perked up the color by adding some red food coloring too. It took awhile to make, but all in all, this is a keeper in my new jam recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Loved this, I made one batch with half of the zest (all I got from the orange) and it was good, made another batch without the zest because I did not have any more oranges and it was good too. The batch with the zest turned out more brown in color and the batch without was more green, not sure why but both tasted good. This is my rhubarb jam recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. More of a fruit spread though, still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love the pure tart taste of the rhubarb in this recipe. The fresh orange juice added a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This jam is the perfect balance of sweet and tang. I made the recipe using 3 lbs. of rhubarb and adding 1/4 cup more sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. I think this made for a more jammie consistency (adding more rhubarb).Fresh orange juice and zest is the key. I zested my orange over the pot to get those essential oil in the pot as well. I also figured if I was going to take the time to make jam I might as well process it in jars as well. I did that by sterilizing the jars then filling the hot jars with the hot jam and topping the jar with the lid and ring and processing the jars in a boiling hot water bath for 15 minutes. This is an excellent recipe I will make this again.Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect and tastes delicious. I got four half pint jars. It might help to know that 1 lb. of rhubarb=3 c. chopped (found this info on this site, rhubarb info.) I can hardly wait for next year's rhubarb, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Perhaps I didn't have the full amount of rhubarb, but this had too much orange flavor for me. It set up perfectly, though. I would leave out some of the sugar to make it more tart, but that could really vary depending on your rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is so delicious. Sweet and tangy at the same time. The consistency was more like preserves than jam, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Really tasty, but it didn't "jam" up. More of a fruit sauce. I suspect it's due to the long cooking time and will try it with a shorter cook time and a bit of pectin. But the taste is really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States