Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made it as written except that I doubled the recipe. I loved the flavor with the orange and the fact that this recipe had all basic ingredients (nothing processed except the sugar). However, my jam turned out rather runny. :( The doubled recipe made 12 jars (8oz jelly jars) with the 5 pounds of fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I had enough rhubarb to double the recipe. After reading the reviews, I omitted the juice/zest and used OJ concentrate plus a package of pectin. I processed it in a water bath. Not sure how long it takes to "set up", but the jam seems really runny to me. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This tastes just like the filling in my grandma's rhubarb pie. I did a half batch, otherwise following the recipe exactly, and ended up with one pint jar and a smaller jelly jar. Really, really great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I needed to use up some rhubarb so thought - what the heck - give it a try. I didn't have any oranges, so I used apple juice instead as one reviewer mentioned as an acceptable substitue for a pectin source. Can I just say...hubby is licking the spoon and pot clean that I used to cooked it in as I type. I think this will be a keeper. Thank you for this super easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colewd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is good! It only took about 20 minutes of boiling to be done. I'm used to strawberry rhubarb jam, so this is pretty tart compared to the sweetness of the other...but it's good in it's own way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Super yummy. I have an excess of rhubarb in my freezer and was wondering what to do with it when I came across this recipe. I had roughly 24 cups of rhubarb and got almost 10 - 500ml jars from 2 batches. I bag my rhubarb in 8-cup bags which is roughly the 2lbs as the recipe stated. I used the suggestion of orange juice concentrate as my oranges didn't yield that much juice. I also cut back on the sugar, adding half stirring and then adding more until I got it right sweet/tart flavor I like. I perked up the color by adding some red food coloring too. It took awhile to make, but all in all, this is a keeper in my new jam recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Loved this, I made one batch with half of the zest (all I got from the orange) and it was good, made another batch without the zest because I did not have any more oranges and it was good too. The batch with the zest turned out more brown in color and the batch without was more green, not sure why but both tasted good. This is my rhubarb jam recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. More of a fruit spread though, still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love the pure tart taste of the rhubarb in this recipe. The fresh orange juice added a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This jam is the perfect balance of sweet and tang. I made the recipe using 3 lbs. of rhubarb and adding 1/4 cup more sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. I think this made for a more jammie consistency (adding more rhubarb).Fresh orange juice and zest is the key. I zested my orange over the pot to get those essential oil in the pot as well. I also figured if I was going to take the time to make jam I might as well process it in jars as well. I did that by sterilizing the jars then filling the hot jars with the hot jam and topping the jar with the lid and ring and processing the jars in a boiling hot water bath for 15 minutes. This is an excellent recipe I will make this again.Thanks!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States