Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
WOW! I love this! I love that it can be made from start to finish in under an hour. I love the full rhubarb flavor not diluted by the orange that is in it or any other fruit that are in so many recipes. My husband wanted a sweet enough jam for his taste, so since I increased the sugar until he thought it was enough (4 cups...and I know, holy cow!) to suit his taste. I also increased the rhubarb by 1/2 cup. Since one orange did not yield enough zest, instead of cutting up another orange I added a small amount (maybe half a handful) of orange bits of pulp in place of the missing 1 teaspoon of zest only for the added orange taste and the pectin. It worked perfectly. I always cook my jam by doing the cold plate test, because after one minute on the cold plate from the freezer you know that is how thick or thin the finished product will be. This way I always know if I should add more water to thin it or cook it longer to thicken it. Great stuff, will make sure I always have this on hand, might be hard since I know my son will surely steal it all when he comes to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I really loved this recipe, It was my first time trying this and it was awesome I used half a package pectin though to make it jell more then what it did w/o the pectin... none the less I went out just to pick more rhubarb to, make this again and try to save some of it ") P.S it tastes a lot better if you use a fresh orange with this and it's zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I love this jam! The orange juice and orange zest make it awesome. Like another reviewer, I mixed my rhubarb and sugar and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before cooking, and didn't need to add any water. I also added half a pack of low-sugar pectin to help it set up more firmly. I mixed some of mine with some strawberry jam that I made, so I had strawberry rhubarb jam too, and that was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty jam. I like to use it as a substitute for applesauce in apple spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I added the cinnamon and pectin suggested by other reviewers, and this turned out absolutely delicious. Kind of a lemonade taste, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I tried this last week using a half recipe and added just a little strawberry jello mix for color, it was the best I ever had, we just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was really good! I did make some changes though, I doubled the batch and was short a little rhubard, so I added a can of crushed pineapple, drained the juice from it and used the pineapple juice in place of some of the water. I also added one package of Certo to help with the thickening. This is a really good recipe! With doubling it, I got 12 3/4 250ml jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Super yummy and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
OMG! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I love this recipe - I used strawberry juice in place of the water for a different combo along with the oj and loved it. It makes 4-5 pints. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States