Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
We made this recipe using three pounds of fresh rhubarb because that is what we picked that day. The recipe stayed the same otherwise. This is so easy and delicious. We used Cara Cara oranges for the zest and the juice. It's a hit with everyone who has tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I was raised with rhubarb sauce. My mother used orange extract if an orange was not available. However,I simply slice the rhubarb, add a bit of water and sugar to taste and cook until it is thickened. It is wonderful on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious. First time I made jam and it was super easy. Next time I think I will use a little less sugar and orange zest. Would like it to be a little thicker but the kiddos loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent results & simple recipe to follow. I eliminated the water and instead premixed the rhubarb & sugar overnight which gave it a syrup consistency. Once boiled, I then reduced the medium-low heat cooking from 45 minutes to 30 minutes. Turned out with a very nice smooth medium thickness. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is great! Easy to make and if you like marmalade (not too sweet and made with orange peel) you will love this jam. No need for pectin. Something a little different to do with my bumper crop of rhubarb. I would make a bigger batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was very simple to make, but it has a strong orange flavor (more than I was anticipating). It's great for my husband who loves marmalade, but I was hoping for a pure rhubarb flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
WOW! I love this! I love that it can be made from start to finish in under an hour. I love the full rhubarb flavor not diluted by the orange that is in it or any other fruit that are in so many recipes. My husband wanted a sweet enough jam for his taste, so since I increased the sugar until he thought it was enough (4 cups...and I know, holy cow!) to suit his taste. I also increased the rhubarb by 1/2 cup. Since one orange did not yield enough zest, instead of cutting up another orange I added a small amount (maybe half a handful) of orange bits of pulp in place of the missing 1 teaspoon of zest only for the added orange taste and the pectin. It worked perfectly. I always cook my jam by doing the cold plate test, because after one minute on the cold plate from the freezer you know that is how thick or thin the finished product will be. This way I always know if I should add more water to thin it or cook it longer to thicken it. Great stuff, will make sure I always have this on hand, might be hard since I know my son will surely steal it all when he comes to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I really loved this recipe, It was my first time trying this and it was awesome I used half a package pectin though to make it jell more then what it did w/o the pectin... none the less I went out just to pick more rhubarb to, make this again and try to save some of it ") P.S it tastes a lot better if you use a fresh orange with this and it's zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I love this jam! The orange juice and orange zest make it awesome. Like another reviewer, I mixed my rhubarb and sugar and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before cooking, and didn't need to add any water. I also added half a pack of low-sugar pectin to help it set up more firmly. I mixed some of mine with some strawberry jam that I made, so I had strawberry rhubarb jam too, and that was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty jam. I like to use it as a substitute for applesauce in apple spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States