Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This is simple and delicious...goes great with crackers and jam!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I was trying to find a good pectin recipe because I've never been a fan of using jell-o in a jam. This one uses neither and it works wonderfully! I used 1/3 c orange juice concentrate instead of the juice and zest because it didn't have enough orange flavor (and I forgot to buy an orange). I think 1/3 c concentrate was too much though! Next time maybe 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe made more of a fruit spread than a jam in consistency for me. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Tart and tasty, with great rhubarb flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe. I however added a little cinnamon and about 1/2 package of pectin to thicken it..I tried it without the orange juice once and it wasn't as good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love Rhubarb, but don't care to mess it up with berries or anything. This jam, with the added orange zest, and I use fresh squeezed orange juice from that orange that I grate, adds that little something special. My daughter loves it so much, she eats it with a spoon. It's too good to waste on bread. I put a drop or two of red food coloring in it, and watch it carefully, as the cooking time is too long. I usually watch it and can tell when it's ready, about 20 minutes after it comes to a boil. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Apparently orange peel & juice is very high in natural pectin and causes this recipe to jell. I've also read that apples are high in pectin. I think I will try a test. One w/ apples and one w/ oranges to see which taste I prefer and whether they set the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was the first time I made jam. It was simple and it turned out amazing! THe only thing I did different was omit the water and mixed the sugar and rhubabrb & let it stand in the ffridge for several hours (It was an unintentional necessity). I gave my mom a jar and she had it gone that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Flavor is slightly tart - yum! Recipe is a little thin for my preference as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Excellent! Be sure to use fresh orange juice if you can, it makes a world of difference. My test batch went quickly, so I can't wait until next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States