Rhubarb Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I used stevia instead of sugar and it was wonderful. This was a great treat since we do not use sugar and rhubarb is hard to serve without sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
What a easy and tasty dessert. Who would have thought that putting chopped rhubarb wrapped up in a canned bisquit dough with a buttery sugar syrup could turn out SOOO good. I followed the recipe as it was printed and it was great. I made a second batch to give to neighbors and basted the bisquits a couple of times during the bake time. both batches were exceptionally good. This will replace my pie recipes.And the bonus is no oven to clean from pie juice run over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Incredibly easy and good. I just made them for breakfast. I didn't have any regular biscuits, so I used the large flaky variety. Excellent! Very filling but I'm tempted to get another cup of tea and another dumpling. This could be bad for the waistline. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I never met a recipe so simple to follow, quick to make, aromatically blissful, and full of tasty goodness! Not the healthiest, but blah blah blah! I cut down on the sugar (used about 3/4 cup) and it was a great blend of sweet and tart. I do agree with another post that basting them about halfway through makes a huge difference--they came out with a caramelized sugary crusty wonderful top. We had to really work hard at not eating more than one for dessert. But, of course, we ate one for breakfast instead! Going to try with a number of other fruity delicious fillings. But, the rhubarb is really amazing. (ps...don't be afraid to really fill these up--we went light on the rhubarb thinking they were really full already, but we totally could have used the full 2 cups). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mavery28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Surprisingly great recipe that was a big hit at our house. The 2nd time I made it, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and added the topping to the rhubarb in the filling and we liked the results better. Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have shared this with both my aunts and we all agree that it is a good recipe. We also think that we should beat an egg white and brush the biscuit, then sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. This would make the outer crust crisp and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Oh sooooo tasty! We made little individual dumplings, drizzled a little bit of sauce under and on top of 2 with a scoop of ice cream in the middle. An easy recipe that makes you look like Martha Stewart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I made a biscuit dough from scratch like the baking powder biscuit recipes found on this website. The extra effort was definitely worth it. Next time I'm going to add strawberries to the filling for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Normally I dont buy prepackaged dessert stuff - including the biscuit dough needed for this recipe. However, when pressed for time this is the hands down best easy dessert recipe ever! I love it and make it way too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
this is one of my new all time favorite recipes... LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States