Rhubarb Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!!! I didn't have biscuits, so I used an 8oz can of reduced fat crescent rolls, other than that I kept it exactly as written. NOM NOM NOM NOM!!!! This one is awesome and it's definitely going in the recipe box. MAKE THIS! NOW!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganFo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I doubled the recipe, used half brown sugar & half white sugar and an additional can of biscuits and after an overnight rest these are FANTABULOUS!! Right after they came out of the oven I was disappointed. They were very watery and mushy on the bottom but after resting overnight they are almost perfect. It wouldn't hurt to use less water. Next time I plan to reduce the amount of water by a third. Thanks JAGRANT for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Great and easy recipe. Had all the ingredients in my pantry and fridge. I used buttery biscuts and it worked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious! Made 2 times in 2 days! The type of biscuit made a difference for me. The first time I used smaller biscuits- buttermilk, and they turned out better then the grand biscuits with butter. I also cut up a strawberry in each one. Do NOT need all that sugar- will be too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Adults and children loved this. I made it for a bunch of people at my house and then took more to a Mother's Day party. It looks much more difficult than it is - in fact the children had fun making the dumplings and they turn out great even if they are not perfect or break open a bit. The only change I made was 1/2 brown sugar because I was almost out of white sugar. If you baste a little during cooking then the tops of the dumplings get a sugary brown crust - yum. Everyone agreed that it was not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I was looking for a quick, easy recipe with rhubarb and that's what I found here. This dumpling recipe is so quick and easy, and sooooooooo INCREDIBLE! My husband and I ate every dumpling within a few hours! Most DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dukesgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Wow... This turned out fantastic! So yummy and so easy! I used Granny Smith apples because the rhubarb in the store looked pretty bad. That is the only change I made. Great recipe. I bet peaches or pears would be very nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have shared this with both my aunts and we all agree that it is a good recipe. We also think that we should beat an egg white and brush the biscuit, then sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. This would make the outer crust crisp and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I liked this a lot!! I used two cans (8 biscuits each) and flattened them to about 5 inch in diameter. I also used only about 1.5 cup rhubarb. Everything else I kept the same. Next time I may try homemade biscuits from whole wheat to make it a bit healthier. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
My kids and husband loved it but I thought it was a bit sweet. I did make them on the grill in a cast iron skillet. I did it after our chicken was done so it had to stay on longer (and I didn't have a cover for it). I would make again but maybe cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States