Rhubarb Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
These were interesting, but not special. I could not fit all the rhubarb into the dumplings. They baked up well enough, and created a syrupy sauce. I think that the rhubarb flavor was lost in all the sweetness and dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I made a biscuit dough from scratch like the baking powder biscuit recipes found on this website. The extra effort was definitely worth it. Next time I'm going to add strawberries to the filling for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious! Looked appetizing and tasted great! I don't have a real sweet tooth, and found th recipe to be perfect. The only change I made was to make my own biscuits, rather than using pre-packaged. (I made buttermilk biscuits.) I'm wondering if the pre-packaged biscuits have sugar in them. If so, I would cut down on the amount of sugar called for in this recipe. I chopped the rhubard in very small pieces and used almost all of them. I sprinkled the remaining ones on top before baking. I'll deffintely be making these again with whatever fruit is in season. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We have a large rhubarb patch and are always looking for new ways to use the produce. This was excellent and everyone in my family enjoyed it very much. Very rich so one is just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The water amount depends on how much water is in the rhubarb and if it has been frozen it will have more water in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were great. I would like to figure out a way to add more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were gooey and delicious. I would flatten the dough a little more so that I have more room to put in rhubarb. My husband loved these...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I am all about sweet, but there was way too much sugar, butter and water in the mixture. The dumplings were floating in it! They taste great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I never met a recipe so simple to follow, quick to make, aromatically blissful, and full of tasty goodness! Not the healthiest, but blah blah blah! I cut down on the sugar (used about 3/4 cup) and it was a great blend of sweet and tart. I do agree with another post that basting them about halfway through makes a huge difference--they came out with a caramelized sugary crusty wonderful top. We had to really work hard at not eating more than one for dessert. But, of course, we ate one for breakfast instead! Going to try with a number of other fruity delicious fillings. But, the rhubarb is really amazing. (ps...don't be afraid to really fill these up--we went light on the rhubarb thinking they were really full already, but we totally could have used the full 2 cups). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mavery28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States