Rhubarb Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is an amazing cookie. I made a couple of changes, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white, 3/4 tsp vanilla, used pecans and raisins and sliced the rhubarb fairly thin, then coated it in the flour mixture before mixing with the wet ingredients. Do yourself a favour double the recipe I wish I had as I am going to have to make it again tomorrow night. Thanks... going onto the favourite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Really good, but changed quite a bit... Used 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and added 1 cup of rolled oats. Increased the butter by 1/4 cup and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also increased rhubarb to 2 cups because that's what I had. I did not use raisins or nuts just 2 1/2 tbs of flax seeds, same amounts of everything else. Baked for 10 minutes, these were amazing, I will make them again and again they really showcase the rhubarb-I enjoyed that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamararoxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I recommend chopping the rhubarb into as small pieces as you can. I blended half the amount of rhubarb to get the taste throughout the cookie, then the other half was chopped small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Made a double batch from the get-go. Used half brown and half white sugar as well as half the cloves and replaced the other half with all-spice. Very much like a small piece of rhubarb cake. Will likely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These are pretty good, but mine turned out nothing like the picture, they looked like little biscuits. They're a little on the dry side, and you can barely taste the rhubarb. I would suggest doubling or even tripling the amount of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These cookies were pretty good. My husband loved them. I thought they were too soft but he liked that a lot about them. I thougt they had a good flavor to them. I used 1 teas pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and cloves and used 1/2 cup almonds for my nuts. I did not use flax seed or rasins. Also, 12 min in my oven was a bit long. I will bake them for 10 or 11 min next time. Also, I think I will adding some friut next time like strawberrys or crasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
4.5 stars I read the reviews and tweaked accordingly. I doubled the recipie and am glad I did (I yield 62 cookies). I used all white sugar instead of brown and white, I used half clove and half all spice, I doubled the rhubarb (4 cups), and I used half all purpose flour and half whole grain. Also instead of nuts or other fruit (which I didn't have) I used coconut. They turned out great but they are definatly more muffin consistancy than cookie but thats ok because they are tangy, sweet, moist, and semi-healthy. I'll probably eat the whole batch tonight! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Good cookies! Our whole house loved them. I did have to substitute allspice for the cloves,but they were still great. I used raisins in them, but not the nuts. My husband and daughter hate nuts in things. They are very soft, which I consider a plus. I grow rhubarb and am always looking for rhubarb recipes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I veganized the recipe by using ground flax and water as my egg, and Earth Balance as my butter. I also used 1c whole wheat and 1c white flour, and used 1/4tsp each of cloves and allspice. The final product was a good, lightly fruit flavored sugar cookie. Could have used a little more rhubarb, but that might be because of the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was a really good cookie!! I changed a few things: I doubled the recipe, used 2 cups of frozen rhubarb (thawed and drained), 16 oz frozen strawberries, added 1 cup oatmeal, and like the others used half the sugar white and half brown. For the rhubarb, I briefly chopped it in the food processor. I thawed but did not drain the strawberries and also briefly chopped them as well. I used everything else and cooked as instructed and they turned out AMAZING! If you like strawberry rhubarb pie, you will really like them prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States