Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used a granulated sugar substitute to make it sugar-free and topped the bars with powdered sugar. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Buttery crust and yummy rhubarb toping. Exactly what I remember Mom making! I used a jelly roll pan and made one and a half batches of the crust and added an extra cup of rhubarb to the topping. I also only used 2 cups of sugar and baked it about 10 minutes longer. Have made it 3 times (all with fresh rhubarb) with slight variations and all turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I baked this an extra ten minutes and it seemed to set very well. I also used a little bit extra rhubarb, I kept the sugar at the recipe suggested level because my husband really isn't crazy about sour flavours but I probably cut have cut it down without noticing. Very good, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good. I had to bake 5 minutes extra and I cut the sugar back to 2 1/2 cups. Plenty sweet. I would also suggest greasing sides of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I listened to all the other comments and cut the sugar to two cups and cut back the 10X sugar and it was still plenty sweet. I received rave reviews. I used all the rhubarb I had, which came to a little more than 3 1/2 cups, but it still worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Burns Boiled Water
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I followed the directions pretty closely, but I did add an extra cup of rhubard and 1/2 cup less sugar plus I added 20 minutes to the cooking time otherwise it would have been very runny.I didn't have butter so I subbed 1/2 cup soft margarine, 1/2 cup shortening. It turned out super good, especially with vanilla ice cream. Will make this again as long as my rhubarb is producing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this recipe as is and was a little nervous about the butter and sugar amounts. I threw caution to the wind and gave it a try. Our family is completely smitten with this recipe! Yes, it was very sweet, but delicious all the same. I did have to cook it longer than the recommended 35 minutes. I'm wondering if you could skip the prebaking of the crust and put the whole thing in at once for 45 minutes. I will definitely try it with less sugar, but I am very glad I tried it "as is" first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wonderful, I also cut the sugar to 21/2 cups was very good and my boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is so good! I used 2C of sugar instead of 3, based on others feedback. This recipe is easy to make and it taste wonderful. I am already trying to think what else would be good with the crust. Yummy! In 2 days, I have made this 3 times. Our friends and family cannot get enough of this. They all took the recipe home. Thank you for sharing. 2 months later, I cannot tell you how many times I have made this. I am addicted. I only hope this taste as good using frozen rhubarb as it does fresh. I froze 20 bags for this recipe to keep eating it. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was delicious, but I cut the white sugar down to 2 1/4 cups and next time I will probably cut the powdered sugar in the crust down to 1/2 cup. I also had to cook it about 15 min longer and the center was still not completely set. I LOVED the final result. The shortbread crust with rhubarb custard was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States