Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Ok this recipe is "To Die For". LOVED IT and so did everyone who tried it. I took the advice of others and cut the sugar to two cups and added more rhubarb (5cups) and they were PERFECT. Certainly would not have wanted them any sweeter. They disapeared and I am already craving more. This is a MUST TRY recipe for rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These were a good pinch substitute for a family recipe. I did reduce the sugar in the topping to 2 cups and added about 1/4 cup local honey - still pretty sweet! I used whole wheat flour and Smart Balance instead of all-purpose flour and butter and upped the rhubarb to an even 5 cups. My finishing touch was to sprinkle the top with sugar before baking for a sweet crunch. Mine had to bake an extra 10-15 minutes. Definitely pre-bake the crust so it won't be soggy! I'd recommend these for an easy way to use up rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. I like rhubarb, but i couldn't really taste it in these bars. The sweetness was overwhelming even after cutting down the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very good! The crust is exceptional! I would recommend spraying your pan, it gets a bit sticky getting them out of the pan. I will make these again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
had to let sit in the fridge overnight to be able to remove them from the pan once cut. people loved them, too sweet for me, as is common with almost all the recipes from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was like eating a Rhubarb Custard Pie, only easier because I didn't have to roll out the pie crust or worry about it dripping on the oven while baking. I used less sugar, about 2 1/3 cups instead of 3 and it was perfect! This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Love this recipe. Only change was I only had two cups white sugar so I added 1 cup brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Wonderfully different way to use rhubarb instead of the standard pie or crisp. Rave reviews from my family, even those who don't care much for rhubarb! Agreed with those who lessened the sugar and baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved this one!!! I followed the advice, and only used 2 cups of sugar, and I added a little allspice to the rhubarb. Will certainly be making this one again! I also baked it for an extra 10 minutes, came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was a good recipe. I followed the directions exactly except I probably put extra rhubarb in. It was a little soft so would have been good to remember other reviews that said bake a little longer. Crust was awesome, will keep that part in mind for other stuff. good reviews at pot luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4L&D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States