Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe is so easy and tastes great! I've made it several times for family parties, funeral receptions, etc., and everyone LOVES it. In fact, it has become one of the most in-demand desserts at dinners with my husband's family, which is saying something because he comes from a family of great cooks and bakers. Sometimes, if I want to change things up a bit, I add some strawberries and reduce the amount of rhubarb. I've had good luck with 1/2 cup and 1 cup of strawberries (changing the recipe to 3 1/2 cups and 3 cups of rhubarb, repectively).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, KRISTA! I have never tasted anything like these. They are awesome! This is now my go to recipe when I want something tangy and sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I halved this recipe so I could also make the Rhubard Stir Cake (5*!). Taking into account other reviewers comments, I cut back the sugar by a third and added extra baking time. This was touchy, considering I was working with a 1/2 recipe. As others noted, I found this recipe very sweet, even after cutting back, and the centre of the squares did not quite set. Even so, very yummy and the best base I've tasted in years! I will try the base for raisen squares in the near future :-) Thanks for the recipe and great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Ok this recipe is "To Die For". LOVED IT and so did everyone who tried it. I took the advice of others and cut the sugar to two cups and added more rhubarb (5cups) and they were PERFECT. Certainly would not have wanted them any sweeter. They disapeared and I am already craving more. This is a MUST TRY recipe for rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These were a good pinch substitute for a family recipe. I did reduce the sugar in the topping to 2 cups and added about 1/4 cup local honey - still pretty sweet! I used whole wheat flour and Smart Balance instead of all-purpose flour and butter and upped the rhubarb to an even 5 cups. My finishing touch was to sprinkle the top with sugar before baking for a sweet crunch. Mine had to bake an extra 10-15 minutes. Definitely pre-bake the crust so it won't be soggy! I'd recommend these for an easy way to use up rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. I like rhubarb, but i couldn't really taste it in these bars. The sweetness was overwhelming even after cutting down the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very good! The crust is exceptional! I would recommend spraying your pan, it gets a bit sticky getting them out of the pan. I will make these again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
had to let sit in the fridge overnight to be able to remove them from the pan once cut. people loved them, too sweet for me, as is common with almost all the recipes from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was like eating a Rhubarb Custard Pie, only easier because I didn't have to roll out the pie crust or worry about it dripping on the oven while baking. I used less sugar, about 2 1/3 cups instead of 3 and it was perfect! This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Love this recipe. Only change was I only had two cups white sugar so I added 1 cup brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States