Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were great and got asked repeatedly for the recipe! I halved the ingredients though and still made them in a 13x9 pan. They were thin but not too rich this way. Also, I mixed 1/2 c oats + 2 Tbsp melted butter + 2 Tbsp brown sugar and sprinkled this on top before baking. I had to bake them a little longer, but it was worth it! The topping made the overall presentation better, and they were a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Way too much sugar in the rhubarb!! I dropped it down to none and just let the icing sugar in the crust speak. Still good but only for the people that like the tartness. Then I tried about 1/2 a cup and a drizzle of maple syrup - excellent. Very quick and simple recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this as a snack for work and it was gone in 30 seconds ! Only thing I will do different next time is double the amount I make ! Great way to use Rhubarb ! Sour cream almost gave it a lemony taste. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and reduced the white sugar to 2 1/2 cups. Increased bake time by 7 minutes. They were sloppy, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I'm not really sure how to rate these... pretty low I guess. The taste was amazing. And I will use this crust recipe for many things. Delicious! But even despite cooking much longer than suggested, the bars were still on the runny side. I temped them and they were at a temperature higher than needed to cook eggs, so they were not going to get stiffer than that. It reminds me a lot of pecan pie filling, but the rhubarb is too wet (I used fresh) so I just could not get it to fully set. I had a tasty but messy dessert that I did not feel comfortable serving to guests (rhubarb juice can look a bit greenish, so this really was not appetizing looking at all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was delicious!!!!!! I cooked it for an extra 10 minutes and reduced the sugar by 1 cup as others suggested. It turned out amazing. I agree with a previous poster that it will firm up as it cools. The crust does taste like a shortbread cookie. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Well, looking for something that people who don't really love rhubarb will eat, this is it. Even those of us who do like rhubarb thought it was pretty yummy too. It was very good. Followed the recipe, except I did bake 15 minutes longer. If you add extra rhubarb it will be runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I added blueberries, YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
WONDERFUL. I added a little less sugar--just my preference! My rhubarb-haters reluctantly tasted it and loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Love it!! I cut the sugar to 2 1/2c. Mine was done in the suggested baking time, firmed up as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States