Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have been making these for years, we love them.One thing I do different is when they cool I sprinkle power sugar on top.Then cut into bars, yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I loved the flavor of the crust and filling. I cooked this an additional 15 minutes however this never set up and was still slightly soupy which is why I gave it only 3 stars. After slicing and removing a bar, the liquid would pool in the empty area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is REALLY good. If you're looking for a great rhubarb recipe, this is it! I used 2 cups of sugar instead of three, and I promise you can't tell at all; it is still very sweet (probably because of the crust). I used a little over five cups of rhubarb, and thought it was perfect. Following others' suggestions, I baked for 45 minutes with wonderful results. I highly recommend this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These bars were loved even by those that swore they HATE rhubarb! I chose to bake mine in a spring form pan and made sure I greased the sides and bottom first. They turned out beautifully. I did cut a bit of the sugar out but will put in even less next time. The buttery base layer and sweet tangy rhubarb was the perfect combination. I will definitely be freezing some of our rhubarb in order to enjoy this next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Just made these and they are increrdible. Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 and added 1/2 cup more flour to the crust. Will made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
One of my best rhubarb things yet! I subbed 1/2c golden flax meal for 1/2c of the flour in the crust b/c I like the slightly nutty flavor (and extra fiber). Halved the sugar in the rhubarb/egg mixture, and was a little generous in my rhubarb measurement. REally a keeper. I'm hoping they'll freeze ok. I can't stop eating them. Update-- it's 2 months later and they froze like a dream.. I cut them before freezing and put them between layers of wax paper in a plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Agreed with other reviewers: 10 min extra for baking non-stick spray sides of pan 2 cups of sugar sufficient This was my first attempt at bars and they were what I would consider a gourmet comfort food result. My boyfriend is a country boy and he said this was better than any rhubarb his mother had ever made (!!!). I did swap out 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white, and added chopped up crystallized ginger to the mix as I folded in the rhubarb. Made a lovely, complex flavour and the ginger mellowed when cooked. The shortbread bottom layer which I was worried about turned out light and delicious. This is a winner that I will make again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I only use 1.5 c of sugar in the egg mixture. If you're on a diet, do not make these! Once I have one, I can't stop myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy and very good. I was encouraged to try this after reading the other reviews, but these were so good that I actually HAD to register on the site to review this. I took this to a potluck and apparently while I was gone, EVERYONE was asking, "Who brought the rhubarb bars?" They are still talking about them the next day. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups based on other reviews. I used frozen rhubarb, so added 1 tsp. of tapioca. And I used unbleached flour. Very easy recipe. For family I would definitely use whole grain flour to add to the nutritional value. Definitely--give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was excellent, even though I was not sure how it would turn out. I used raw sugar instead of white, coconut and soft whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose for more minerals and fiber. Very good, I could not stop eating more than one! o yes, only 1 and 1/2cups of sugar was enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States