Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Use 2 cups of sugar instead of 3. Serve chilled and top with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
After reading all the reviews. I cut the sugar in half and added one cup of rhubarb and baked an extra 20 minutes. I tripled the recipe because I had a ton of rhubarb to use and it was fine. It made 2 1/2 large lasagna dishes. It was gone in less than 2 days. Everyone couldn't stop eating it. Even my dad, who doesn't bring home leftovers, asked for some to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These are great. I used about 1/3 cup less sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Thank you for posting a new family favourite! The only change I made was to decrease the sugar to 2C and I had a scant 4C of fresh rhubarb to add in. In my oven they came out perfectly in 35 minutes and I did not have the filling stick to the pan as other have. These are heavenly bars and I'm sure everyone will enjoy them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have been making these for years, we love them.One thing I do different is when they cool I sprinkle power sugar on top.Then cut into bars, yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I loved the flavor of the crust and filling. I cooked this an additional 15 minutes however this never set up and was still slightly soupy which is why I gave it only 3 stars. After slicing and removing a bar, the liquid would pool in the empty area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is REALLY good. If you're looking for a great rhubarb recipe, this is it! I used 2 cups of sugar instead of three, and I promise you can't tell at all; it is still very sweet (probably because of the crust). I used a little over five cups of rhubarb, and thought it was perfect. Following others' suggestions, I baked for 45 minutes with wonderful results. I highly recommend this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These bars were loved even by those that swore they HATE rhubarb! I chose to bake mine in a spring form pan and made sure I greased the sides and bottom first. They turned out beautifully. I did cut a bit of the sugar out but will put in even less next time. The buttery base layer and sweet tangy rhubarb was the perfect combination. I will definitely be freezing some of our rhubarb in order to enjoy this next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Just made these and they are increrdible. Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 and added 1/2 cup more flour to the crust. Will made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
One of my best rhubarb things yet! I subbed 1/2c golden flax meal for 1/2c of the flour in the crust b/c I like the slightly nutty flavor (and extra fiber). Halved the sugar in the rhubarb/egg mixture, and was a little generous in my rhubarb measurement. REally a keeper. I'm hoping they'll freeze ok. I can't stop eating them. Update-- it's 2 months later and they froze like a dream.. I cut them before freezing and put them between layers of wax paper in a plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States