Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
over all not a bad rhubarb bar... great way to use up some rhubarb... very very sweet though... i would recommend cutting back on the sugar.... perhaps down to 2 cups... also make sure they cool before cutting possibly even refrigerate after they reach room temperature.. mine were seemed pretty runny and i even baked for an extra 20 minutes until the top started to brown... over all not bad.. reminded me a lot of lemon bars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipie , loved the flavor . Although I ended up cooking it MUCH longer than 35 minuets . I ended up cooking it for almost an hour and a half . Guess it depends on how much water is in the rhubarb itself . but after it was done (and I did not burn,even after cooking that long) It was so nice and sweet . You will want to make small pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this for my son's 2nd grade class so they could try rhubarb. This was a perfect recipe as it only used rhubarb (not combined with other fruits) and it was still identifiable as such when finished cooking. I followed the recipe exactly except I made it in an 11x14 cookie pan (I got 48 small bars). It was a HUGE hit with the kids and several asked me to send their moms the recipe. I will definitely add it to my regular spring rhubarb recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The flavor was fine, but the crust stuck to the pan as if it were glued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Altered the sugar a bit as was a suggestion. The bars were great. They were a hit at the barbeque. Thanks for a great recipe! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
They needed a LOT longer to bake... great concept. I added 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1 package of sliced almonds. My family was in LOVE with the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charisma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was very tasty, but I had to bake it twice since it didn't couldn't complete the first time. Flavors were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These are way to sweet, you could cut the sugar in the rhubarb filling in half and i think it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The rhubarb topping creates a custard-like filling, which tastes of egg. Rhubarb and egg flavors just don't compliment each other. The shortbread base is very good, though. I could see this made with pecans instead of rhubarb, perhaps. Just not a good combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Absolutely my VERY FAVORITE Rhubarb dessert ever! I have been making this for years and love, love, LOVE IT!!!! I like the tartness of rhubarb so I decrease the sugar by at least 1/2 cup and it's still plenty sweet. I also make real whipped cream to go with this. (Cool whip or whip-in-a-can just don't do this recipe justice, but in a pinch will use it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States