Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipie , loved the flavor . Although I ended up cooking it MUCH longer than 35 minuets . I ended up cooking it for almost an hour and a half . Guess it depends on how much water is in the rhubarb itself . but after it was done (and I did not burn,even after cooking that long) It was so nice and sweet . You will want to make small pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this for my son's 2nd grade class so they could try rhubarb. This was a perfect recipe as it only used rhubarb (not combined with other fruits) and it was still identifiable as such when finished cooking. I followed the recipe exactly except I made it in an 11x14 cookie pan (I got 48 small bars). It was a HUGE hit with the kids and several asked me to send their moms the recipe. I will definitely add it to my regular spring rhubarb recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The flavor was fine, but the crust stuck to the pan as if it were glued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Altered the sugar a bit as was a suggestion. The bars were great. They were a hit at the barbeque. Thanks for a great recipe! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
They needed a LOT longer to bake... great concept. I added 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1 package of sliced almonds. My family was in LOVE with the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charisma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was very tasty, but I had to bake it twice since it didn't couldn't complete the first time. Flavors were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These are way to sweet, you could cut the sugar in the rhubarb filling in half and i think it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The rhubarb topping creates a custard-like filling, which tastes of egg. Rhubarb and egg flavors just don't compliment each other. The shortbread base is very good, though. I could see this made with pecans instead of rhubarb, perhaps. Just not a good combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Absolutely my VERY FAVORITE Rhubarb dessert ever! I have been making this for years and love, love, LOVE IT!!!! I like the tartness of rhubarb so I decrease the sugar by at least 1/2 cup and it's still plenty sweet. I also make real whipped cream to go with this. (Cool whip or whip-in-a-can just don't do this recipe justice, but in a pinch will use it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent. The only thing I HAD to change was the eggs because I didn't have 6, I only had 5, but the recipe still turned out fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone who loves rhubarb pie. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States