Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is an entirely delicious and new way of enjoying Rhubarb! The crust part tasted like a shortbread cookie, and the rhubarb topping was very similar to a Rhubarb Custard Pie filling. Go ahead, cut back the sugar, I used 2 1/2 cups, and that was fine for us. I used all the butter called for in the crust, and I think this was a good call, as shortbread *has* to have that really buttery flavor. I used frozen rhubarb, and that extended the baking time a good deal. Keep baking until that runny texture becomes a soft custard. Don't use a smaller pan as one person suggested, especially when using the frozen rhubarb, that made the baking time so much longer that the corners browned quite a bit. I think that adding a little more rhubarb could be a good thing, I think I will do that next time. Cut to serving size while still warm, so that the crust isn't brittle, and then allow to cool even more before serving. This allows the custard portion to firm up. Give this recipe a try, you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was great! As others' suggested, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups (which was still very sweet) and baked it for an additional 10 minutes. One new suggestion is to spray the sides of the pan with oil. This will make for a lot easier clean up! The bottom does not need it because of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Yum. I didn't think these would ever be done, but learned that they set and become firmer as they cooled (I cooked it 10 minutes longer as others had suggested and the middle was still runny, but took it out anyway so the crust didn't burn. It firmed up to bar-consistency as it cooled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
OMG! My husband who rarely gets excited about stuff like new recipes said that this was "a keeper!" I followed some of the suggestions of other cooks...used a generous 2 1/2 cups of sugar (instead of 3 )and probably a little more rhubarb (5 cups?). Also baked for about 10 mins. more the center custard seemed very loose at 35 mins. I would follow another suggestion to PAM the sides of the pan...I cut along the edges when they were hot so that they wouldn't stick too much. These are deliciousssss! Best if eaten the day you make them... they get a little runny as time goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Excellent!! I made a few changes to make it a bit healthier. I used half white flour/half whole wheat in the crust. Also used 3/4 c. margarine rather than 1 c. butter. I used about 2 c. of sugar instead of 3 and it was plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
These were sooooooo good. Probably one of my favorite rhubarb desserts. I did have to up my baking time by 10-15 minutes to make sure the rhubarb was set and the crust was completely done. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added an extra cup of rhubarb and baked an extra 20 minutes. Superb! Been trying to find a recipe that imitated the rhubarb squares at this great little farm stand, I think these fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were excellent! I used 1 1/3 cups sugar, 1 cup Splenda, 1 1/2 cups white flour, and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I also used 5 cups rhubarb. Baked crust for 14 minutes and bars for 40 minutes. They set beautifully. I did cut around the edge of the pan immediately upon removing from the oven. Made clean-up and bar removal from the pan much easier. I took these to work and my co-workers raved! They were gone within a very short time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
We loved this recipe. I reduced it to 2 cups of white sugar and it was still very sweet. Next time I'll reduce it to 1.25 cups I think. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is to die for. Thank you for it. I did find that I had to cook it longer as it was too runny. Could be my oven though. Absolutely a best seller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States