Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
One of my best rhubarb things yet! I subbed 1/2c golden flax meal for 1/2c of the flour in the crust b/c I like the slightly nutty flavor (and extra fiber). Halved the sugar in the rhubarb/egg mixture, and was a little generous in my rhubarb measurement. REally a keeper. I'm hoping they'll freeze ok. I can't stop eating them. Update-- it's 2 months later and they froze like a dream.. I cut them before freezing and put them between layers of wax paper in a plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Agreed with other reviewers: 10 min extra for baking non-stick spray sides of pan 2 cups of sugar sufficient This was my first attempt at bars and they were what I would consider a gourmet comfort food result. My boyfriend is a country boy and he said this was better than any rhubarb his mother had ever made (!!!). I did swap out 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white, and added chopped up crystallized ginger to the mix as I folded in the rhubarb. Made a lovely, complex flavour and the ginger mellowed when cooked. The shortbread bottom layer which I was worried about turned out light and delicious. This is a winner that I will make again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I only use 1.5 c of sugar in the egg mixture. If you're on a diet, do not make these! Once I have one, I can't stop myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy and very good. I was encouraged to try this after reading the other reviews, but these were so good that I actually HAD to register on the site to review this. I took this to a potluck and apparently while I was gone, EVERYONE was asking, "Who brought the rhubarb bars?" They are still talking about them the next day. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups based on other reviews. I used frozen rhubarb, so added 1 tsp. of tapioca. And I used unbleached flour. Very easy recipe. For family I would definitely use whole grain flour to add to the nutritional value. Definitely--give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was excellent, even though I was not sure how it would turn out. I used raw sugar instead of white, coconut and soft whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose for more minerals and fiber. Very good, I could not stop eating more than one! o yes, only 1 and 1/2cups of sugar was enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good new rhubarb recipe for me! I used only 1 3/4 c. sugar in the filling and will probably use 1 1/2 c. next time. I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour in crust. It took about 45 min. to bake, also. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Easy recipes for rhubarb. I've made this for two summers now and it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley McLellan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
All I can say about this recipe is "WOW!". What a great way to fix rhubarb -- the shortbread crust really enhances the flavors. My husband loves rhubarb, pretty much anything rhubarb, but after he tasted this recipe, he said this is by far his favorite. I fixed it with the ingredients listed, but sprinkled cinnamon on top for a little more color prior to baking. I think next time I may add some tapioca to thicken it just a little, but otherwise, it is oh so delish!! Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My mom made these when I was a child. I always double the crust and use some of it to top off the bars. I have also used blueberries, instead of rhubarb. I add in a little extra flour, because of the juiciness of the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I used rhubarb and strawberries mixed (4 and 2 cups). I added a little lime juice to zip it up. It was good, but the rhubarb got a little glue-like in texture. I think it has too much flour in with the fruit. I will try again with tapioca instead, which I know makes better pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States