Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The rhubarb topping creates a custard-like filling, which tastes of egg. Rhubarb and egg flavors just don't compliment each other. The shortbread base is very good, though. I could see this made with pecans instead of rhubarb, perhaps. Just not a good combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Absolutely my VERY FAVORITE Rhubarb dessert ever! I have been making this for years and love, love, LOVE IT!!!! I like the tartness of rhubarb so I decrease the sugar by at least 1/2 cup and it's still plenty sweet. I also make real whipped cream to go with this. (Cool whip or whip-in-a-can just don't do this recipe justice, but in a pinch will use it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent. The only thing I HAD to change was the eggs because I didn't have 6, I only had 5, but the recipe still turned out fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone who loves rhubarb pie. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Use 2 cups of sugar instead of 3. Serve chilled and top with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
After reading all the reviews. I cut the sugar in half and added one cup of rhubarb and baked an extra 20 minutes. I tripled the recipe because I had a ton of rhubarb to use and it was fine. It made 2 1/2 large lasagna dishes. It was gone in less than 2 days. Everyone couldn't stop eating it. Even my dad, who doesn't bring home leftovers, asked for some to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These are great. I used about 1/3 cup less sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Thank you for posting a new family favourite! The only change I made was to decrease the sugar to 2C and I had a scant 4C of fresh rhubarb to add in. In my oven they came out perfectly in 35 minutes and I did not have the filling stick to the pan as other have. These are heavenly bars and I'm sure everyone will enjoy them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have been making these for years, we love them.One thing I do different is when they cool I sprinkle power sugar on top.Then cut into bars, yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I loved the flavor of the crust and filling. I cooked this an additional 15 minutes however this never set up and was still slightly soupy which is why I gave it only 3 stars. After slicing and removing a bar, the liquid would pool in the empty area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is REALLY good. If you're looking for a great rhubarb recipe, this is it! I used 2 cups of sugar instead of three, and I promise you can't tell at all; it is still very sweet (probably because of the crust). I used a little over five cups of rhubarb, and thought it was perfect. Following others' suggestions, I baked for 45 minutes with wonderful results. I highly recommend this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States