Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. The crust was too hard, and the custard too sweet. Actually covered up the taste of the rhubarb. I do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These were good. The rhubarb was tangy and great, even though I dropped the sugar to 2c. There was too much goo, though, so we had to eat most of the "bars" with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Excellent use of Rhubarb. I was looking for a way to use my rhubarb besides the usual pie or crisp, and this looked perfect. I reduced the sugar in the filling to 2 cups, and next time, I'll use 1/2 the sugar in the crust. I baked for an extra 15 minutes, and it was done perfectly. The crust is still crisp a few days later. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I tried this the other day and really liked it. We have one rhubarb plant in our yard and this was a great way to use it up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of adding more rhubarb - a little over 5 cups. I think that was too much. It turned out pretty watery/juicy and I baked it for 40 minutes so I'm wondering if its from increasing the rhubarb quantity. It still tastes delicious even though it's very runny. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Though I admit to being a novice when it comes to baking, this recipe did not turn out as described. I followed the directions closely, and even allowed 15 minutes extra baking time as other reviewers suggested, but the rhubarb mixture still turned out runny. The crust was a good consistency, but was too sweet for my taste. I would suggest using less sugar throughout, making less of the rhubarb mixture, and increasing baking time at your own discretion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Very tasty, but as some previous reviewers have mentioned, it could do with a few less eggs. The bars become goopy and unmanageable with all four eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Mmmmm..., these are yummy with whipped cream. 1 1/2 cups of sugar + 1/4 tsp cinnamon + vanilla versus the original recipe. Also, baking the crust for 20 minutes and the rest another hour... but it was GOOD - WAS, I get them all because I am the only rhubarb eater. Oh, well. All the more for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I thought that they were too sweet--almost grainy from the sugar. Mine were set along the edges only, otherwise very runny. I think that the tips from other bakers would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were excellent! I used 1 1/3 cups sugar, 1 cup Splenda, 1 1/2 cups white flour, and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I also used 5 cups rhubarb. Baked crust for 14 minutes and bars for 40 minutes. They set beautifully. I did cut around the edge of the pan immediately upon removing from the oven. Made clean-up and bar removal from the pan much easier. I took these to work and my co-workers raved! They were gone within a very short time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States