Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was delicious, but I cut the white sugar down to 2 1/4 cups and next time I will probably cut the powdered sugar in the crust down to 1/2 cup. I also had to cook it about 15 min longer and the center was still not completely set. I LOVED the final result. The shortbread crust with rhubarb custard was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe looked so yummy sounding, but I was a little disappointed. I did reduce the sugar to 2 cups...still tasted sweet. And I ended up baking it for about 50 minutes instead of 35. I still feel that it could have baked longer. Next time I make this, because I love Rhubarb I'm going to try putting it in the fridge for an hour or more after it cools. The shortbread crust was amazing, but the custard part with the rhubarb didn't seem to go together. Next time, I'll try mincing the rhubarb, not chopping, which I think may allow the rhubarb and custard filling to mix together better effect. I think it will also give it a more visually pleasing end result. Will try again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. The crust was too hard, and the custard too sweet. Actually covered up the taste of the rhubarb. I do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These were good. The rhubarb was tangy and great, even though I dropped the sugar to 2c. There was too much goo, though, so we had to eat most of the "bars" with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Excellent use of Rhubarb. I was looking for a way to use my rhubarb besides the usual pie or crisp, and this looked perfect. I reduced the sugar in the filling to 2 cups, and next time, I'll use 1/2 the sugar in the crust. I baked for an extra 15 minutes, and it was done perfectly. The crust is still crisp a few days later. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I tried this the other day and really liked it. We have one rhubarb plant in our yard and this was a great way to use it up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of adding more rhubarb - a little over 5 cups. I think that was too much. It turned out pretty watery/juicy and I baked it for 40 minutes so I'm wondering if its from increasing the rhubarb quantity. It still tastes delicious even though it's very runny. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Though I admit to being a novice when it comes to baking, this recipe did not turn out as described. I followed the directions closely, and even allowed 15 minutes extra baking time as other reviewers suggested, but the rhubarb mixture still turned out runny. The crust was a good consistency, but was too sweet for my taste. I would suggest using less sugar throughout, making less of the rhubarb mixture, and increasing baking time at your own discretion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Very tasty, but as some previous reviewers have mentioned, it could do with a few less eggs. The bars become goopy and unmanageable with all four eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Mmmmm..., these are yummy with whipped cream. 1 1/2 cups of sugar + 1/4 tsp cinnamon + vanilla versus the original recipe. Also, baking the crust for 20 minutes and the rest another hour... but it was GOOD - WAS, I get them all because I am the only rhubarb eater. Oh, well. All the more for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States