Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The first time I made this I had some of the same issues others have mentioned - a little runny-ness. After the first time I added 3/4 cup chopped pecans and 3/4 - 1 cup of flaked coconut to the topping mixture. That makes a huge difference in texture and taste - there's a little crunch and a little savory from the pecan and the coconut helps the topping set appropriately. I also reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup (I did a half recipe). I bake this in the Pampered Chef Deep Dish Baker even though I make half the recipe. I think that also helps - a bit thinner crust and a bit thinner topping. Everyone I've served these to loves them and I have given my adjusted recipe out to many people. A good recipe for your rhubarb harvest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Oh, so yummy! I love the tart rhubarb with the sweet, buttery crust! I only added about 1.5 cups of white sugar to the custard and probably close to 6 cups of rhubarb. I love rhubarb so being able to taste it over the sweetness was exactly what I wanted! I had to add another 10 minutes to baking time as well, then it set up nicely as it cooled. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made this yesterday and even though I cut back the sugar in the filling to 1 and 1/2 cups, it was still plenty sweet. No need for all that sugar. Also I added about 1 to 1 & 1/2 cups of sliced strawberries to the filling. Could be why it didn't need a lot of sugar too I suppose. I think I may reduce the sugar in the crust a little the next time I make this. I had no problem with the filling being runny and didn't add any extra four. Baked it about 45 minutes and it was fine. All in all love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent with just a few changes - cut back on the butter, sugar, and salt. Used 3/4 cup butter - very cold cut into flour and powdered sugar using a food processor. Used 2 cups white sugar - plenty. 1 tsp of salt was plenty. Also - did not have enough rhubarb so used 1/2 blueberries - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
LOVE this recipe! After making these a few times, I've found that they need to cook about 20 minutes longer to firm up. I've also increased the flour in the filling to about 3/4 cup to help the filling firm up. Without the extra flour, the taste is still spectacular, just a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
over all not a bad rhubarb bar... great way to use up some rhubarb... very very sweet though... i would recommend cutting back on the sugar.... perhaps down to 2 cups... also make sure they cool before cutting possibly even refrigerate after they reach room temperature.. mine were seemed pretty runny and i even baked for an extra 20 minutes until the top started to brown... over all not bad.. reminded me a lot of lemon bars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipie , loved the flavor . Although I ended up cooking it MUCH longer than 35 minuets . I ended up cooking it for almost an hour and a half . Guess it depends on how much water is in the rhubarb itself . but after it was done (and I did not burn,even after cooking that long) It was so nice and sweet . You will want to make small pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this for my son's 2nd grade class so they could try rhubarb. This was a perfect recipe as it only used rhubarb (not combined with other fruits) and it was still identifiable as such when finished cooking. I followed the recipe exactly except I made it in an 11x14 cookie pan (I got 48 small bars). It was a HUGE hit with the kids and several asked me to send their moms the recipe. I will definitely add it to my regular spring rhubarb recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The flavor was fine, but the crust stuck to the pan as if it were glued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Altered the sugar a bit as was a suggestion. The bars were great. They were a hit at the barbeque. Thanks for a great recipe! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States