Rhubarb Custard Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. It is my family's favorite pie. The only problem is finding the rhubarb on the market. I finally planted my own and freeze the rhubarb so I have it available all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Good recipe! I had about 5 cups of rhubarb so I added a splash (about 1/4 C) milk and an extra egg, I also added 1 tsp vanilla. Fantastic dessert. I served it cold and it was a hit, even to those with a bad idea of what rhubarb tastes like. Also I already had 2 refrigerated pie crusts so I used those instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This pie tastes very orange juicy. Even though you only use 1/4 cup, the flavor is powerful. I would use less next time. However, this is THEE best pie crust EVER!!! I will use this pie crust recipe over and over and over!! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
EXCELLENT ALSO PIE CRUST IS A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This pie is awesome. What really makes it is the crust. I have been trying for years to make my grandma's pie crust... Now, I think I've got it! I made a blueberry and mixed berry pie with this crust and they were awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Fantastic! I used half sour cream and half plain yogurt to cut the fat down. I served this cold out of the fridge with sweetened heavy cream. My husband hates rhubarb. But he really liked this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I had misplaced my recipe, which was my grandmother's, from the 1930s. How delighted to find it here, as my daughter just asked for it. I often just make the filling as a pudding, and we all really have enjoyed it for decades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used this crust recipe for anothe pie. Pie tasted delish, crust did stick to the bottom of the pie plate but that could be my error in greasing the plate I suppose. Had no complaints on the pie or the crust so it's a thumbs up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I only used the recipe for making a pie crust for a different sort of pie - it was wonderful! I had no experience making pies, but it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This pie was good, but what really impressed me and everyone else was the pastry itself. I have NEVER been able to make good flakey crusts, and this one was excellent! Made according to direction, the crust was very wet, but when I rolled it out on lots of flour, it turned out perfectly! I have kept this crust recipe and now use it for all of my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States