Rhubarb Custard Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
Best way to use rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
Thought I had the best recipe - I am throwing my old recipe away. This tops it. Like the cinnamon in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
If you like rhubarb - you'll love this pie. I sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar before baking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Ok.....Am I the only one stupid enough to question the eggs in the ingredients saying 2 EGGS, BEATEN and in the directions it saying ADD EGG YOLKS (only)??? Well, I added yolks "only" and realized this did not look right so I logged on to check similar recipes. Decided to add the WHITES and by this time, the yolks & sugar have stiffened. I added the whites anyway and it looks like scrambled eggs. It's in the oven now. Doesn't that sould good......chunks of hardened, cooked egg yolk on top of rhubarb and a crust.......yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
We have fixed this recipe to indicate using the whole eggs instead of just the yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This pie, made with the first fruits of spring, is a delicious, delightful reward for enduring the long MN winter! Excellent recipe-probably the easiest pie I've ever made(especially if you use frozen piecrust!) I like to cut the rhubarb a bit smaller-1/2 inch pieces-and add a little vanilla and fresh grated nutmeg. Next time I think I'll try adding a meringue topping...Thanks, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Rather good for such a simple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was okay. The custard was not as creamy as I was expecting. It turned into more of a spongey consistency. I guess I just perfer unadulterated rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I love this recipe because the rhubarb isn't diluted with strawberries etc. I do add more cinnamon to mine, but otherwise the recipe is perfect and crazy simple to make. Between my husband and I, it usually doesn't last longer than 24 hours! Sinfully delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States