Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I LOVE this recipe. This is nearly identical to a Rhubarb Cream Pie recipe passed down through my family. Mine has a 1/2 cup more sugar, 1 more Tbl flour and 1 Tbl butter and 1 cup more of rhubarb and I bake it in a 10 inch. This is a family favorite and many people who normally don't like rhubarb pies have loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. If you like your pie intensely fruity without the underlying bitterness that can accompany rhubarb, this is the one! I used half frozen and half fresh rhubarb, resulting in 4 cups of fruit, and I didn't experience any of the problems mentioned (flat pie, spillover) by previous reviewers. I pre-baked the shell for 15 mins to prevent sogginess. I cut the scraps into shapes for a loose top, and sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over the whole thing. The egg mixture mellowed the rhubarb, yet intensified the fruity tartness. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was a great change from plain rhubarb pie -- I added strawberies, too, from teh freezer - YUM!! Also - only use a 9-inch pie pan. The only one I would find was a 10-11 inch glass one and the pie was rather flat! (But delicious!) I can't wait to try it with fresh rhubarb again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe was pretty good! I am on a low carb diet so I did make some changes, leaving off the crust and replacing the sugar with splenda. Since no crust it baked about 40 minutes. I think it would be wonderful with strawberries also and I will definitely add more fruit next time. My first real 'cake' since I started this plan months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I'll give this an actual review when this works, but I wanted to warn people against substituting berries for the rhubarb. This might be a no brainer, but I'm entirely an amateur cook, and switching this out didn't work. It was delicious, but the inside of the pie was completely liquid. Nothing wrong with the recipe, but just wanted to warn anyone considering this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Use deep dish crust and double custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't certain the custard would cut the tartness of the rhubarb but it did just enough to balance sweet with tart. I used about 4 cups rhubarb and made 1.5 times the custard as my stoneware pie plate very deep and baked it about 70 minutes. Will definitely keep this one! It was a nice alternative to the regular ol' strawberry/rhubarb combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I made this pie for company and they enjoyed it very much. I served it with whipped cream. Next time I will try it in a tart pan or lower sided pie plate. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We liked this recipe. I added 1 cup more of rhubarb and did everything else the same. Kinda had a browned sugar crust on top. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This one is a very tasty pie, yet pretty thin; next time, I'll probably use a tart pan. I'll probably also try it with other fruits, such as apple, pear, apricot, ... The custard filling seem the be a reliable base for any kind of fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States