Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a great recipe, very sweet and it set up well. I added a tiny bit of vanilla to tone down the nutmeg, and it turned out very yummy. I'm not a rhubarb fan, but I'll probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RibbonMunky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I'll give this an actual review when this works, but I wanted to warn people against substituting berries for the rhubarb. This might be a no brainer, but I'm entirely an amateur cook, and switching this out didn't work. It was delicious, but the inside of the pie was completely liquid. Nothing wrong with the recipe, but just wanted to warn anyone considering this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was different, but delicious. I'd definitely make it again, it was quite simple. And it was the right consistency, the custard balanced the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. If you like your pie intensely fruity without the underlying bitterness that can accompany rhubarb, this is the one! I used half frozen and half fresh rhubarb, resulting in 4 cups of fruit, and I didn't experience any of the problems mentioned (flat pie, spillover) by previous reviewers. I pre-baked the shell for 15 mins to prevent sogginess. I cut the scraps into shapes for a loose top, and sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over the whole thing. The egg mixture mellowed the rhubarb, yet intensified the fruity tartness. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna F.
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This pie is great! It's so easy that it will stay in my regular recipe box. I used half rhubarb and half peeled and chopped granny smith apple. I replaced the nutmeg with cinnamin (because I really can't stand nutmeg). It was yummy hot but best the next morning. It really isn't a custard (as others have noted) but it taste great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I made this with a graham cracker crust instead of pastry. I was looking for a good, custard-y rhubarb pie, but ended up with more of a rhubarb tart. It would be delicious as a bar, but there really wasn't enough custard to fill up the pie pan. I think I'll use a recipe that calls for more eggs & more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Excellent! A nice change from the usual strawberry and rhubarb pie. Highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This recipe turned out terribly. I don't know if it was something I did or what. The sugar seemed to form a very hard crust at the top. The custard did not taste at all like custard. I will definitely not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I made this pie for company and they enjoyed it very much. I served it with whipped cream. Next time I will try it in a tart pan or lower sided pie plate. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This recipe is very quick and easy and makes a great pie. I don't always have nutmeg, but it is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States