Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Rhubarb omelette. It must have over cooked, even though I followed directions. I suggest checking it regularly towards the end, the center should jiggle like creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, but not sure what happened. It tasted absolutely wonderfully, but it was still runny after the hour of cooking. Maybe I should have cooked it longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I've made this 2 days running now. It's wonderful. I did not double the custard as others recommended - I didn't want to increase the sugar content per serving. I increased the rhubarb to 3 cups and made sure to drizzle the sauce over all the fruit. It was perfect, though next time I may well add the rhubarb to the custard mixture and then pour it all into the pastry shell at once. I also didn't bother covering the edges with foil and the pastry was perfect. I nixed the nutmeg and added almost 2tsp cinnamon instead. It wasn't overly cinnamon-y. Cinnamon and Rhubarb= perfect companions:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The pie did have good flavor, but I thought the custard layer was very thin. The whole pie was less than an inch thick and I made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Not a great recipe. I was expecting tomething better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
To be fair, I made huge changes to this. I didn't use a crust, I used splenda instead of sugar, and I added a bit of cinnamon as well. I also doubled the recipe since I had 4 cups of rhubarb. It's odd, but good. There really isn't enough of the custard though, hence the lower rating. I will likely try this again, but at least double the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
in my opinion not enough rehubarb. Too much sugar-too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Use deep dish crust and double custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't certain the custard would cut the tartness of the rhubarb but it did just enough to balance sweet with tart. I used about 4 cups rhubarb and made 1.5 times the custard as my stoneware pie plate very deep and baked it about 70 minutes. Will definitely keep this one! It was a nice alternative to the regular ol' strawberry/rhubarb combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very good - I doubled the recipe for my large pie plate, but I didn't quite double the sugar. Next time I would probably increase the rhubarb and omit the nutmeg for a slightly more tart, rhubarb-y flavour. Good all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States