Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Rhubarb omelette. It must have over cooked, even though I followed directions. I suggest checking it regularly towards the end, the center should jiggle like creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, but not sure what happened. It tasted absolutely wonderfully, but it was still runny after the hour of cooking. Maybe I should have cooked it longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I've made this 2 days running now. It's wonderful. I did not double the custard as others recommended - I didn't want to increase the sugar content per serving. I increased the rhubarb to 3 cups and made sure to drizzle the sauce over all the fruit. It was perfect, though next time I may well add the rhubarb to the custard mixture and then pour it all into the pastry shell at once. I also didn't bother covering the edges with foil and the pastry was perfect. I nixed the nutmeg and added almost 2tsp cinnamon instead. It wasn't overly cinnamon-y. Cinnamon and Rhubarb= perfect companions:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The pie did have good flavor, but I thought the custard layer was very thin. The whole pie was less than an inch thick and I made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Not a great recipe. I was expecting tomething better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
To be fair, I made huge changes to this. I didn't use a crust, I used splenda instead of sugar, and I added a bit of cinnamon as well. I also doubled the recipe since I had 4 cups of rhubarb. It's odd, but good. There really isn't enough of the custard though, hence the lower rating. I will likely try this again, but at least double the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
in my opinion not enough rehubarb. Too much sugar-too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Use deep dish crust and double custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't certain the custard would cut the tartness of the rhubarb but it did just enough to balance sweet with tart. I used about 4 cups rhubarb and made 1.5 times the custard as my stoneware pie plate very deep and baked it about 70 minutes. Will definitely keep this one! It was a nice alternative to the regular ol' strawberry/rhubarb combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very good - I doubled the recipe for my large pie plate, but I didn't quite double the sugar. Next time I would probably increase the rhubarb and omit the nutmeg for a slightly more tart, rhubarb-y flavour. Good all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States