Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This pie is really excellent. It has just the right amount of sweetness (you can still taste the "tartness" of the rhubarb) and the *custard* like filling is wonderful. A great rhubarb pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
I really liked this pie, but it came out with a dark crispy meringue-like crust and I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be like that or if it did that because I mixed the eggs, sugar, and flour together and then let it sit for about 10 minutes before I poured it in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
It was terrific, and that's coming from someone who doesn't really like rhubarb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This is a very nice pie, my husband liked it. I prefer to make one crust pies & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I used the strawberry instead of the rhubarb and it is excellent.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I found this creamy pie to be a delicious change from the pies I usually buy at the supermarket. There was rhubarb growing in my neighbor's yard. She let me take just enough, and I cooked it up into this wonderful pie. It smelled so good cooking, I thought I had died and gone to heaven! I'd better tell the neighbor she needs to plant more rhubarb before I use it all up making more pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was a great change from plain rhubarb pie -- I added strawberies, too, from teh freezer - YUM!! Also - only use a 9-inch pie pan. The only one I would find was a 10-11 inch glass one and the pie was rather flat! (But delicious!) I can't wait to try it with fresh rhubarb again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very good. I used a deep dish pie crust and still had a mess all over my oven. Would probably make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe was pretty good! I am on a low carb diet so I did make some changes, leaving off the crust and replacing the sugar with splenda. Since no crust it baked about 40 minutes. I think it would be wonderful with strawberries also and I will definitely add more fruit next time. My first real 'cake' since I started this plan months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This pie was excellent. I followed the recipe as written and didn't have any trouble. I had never had rhubarb before, but this pie made me a fan. This recipe even got the "thumbs up" from my 87-year-old neighbour. She even said it was worth cheating on her diet for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States