Rhubarb Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I LOVE this recipe. This is nearly identical to a Rhubarb Cream Pie recipe passed down through my family. Mine has a 1/2 cup more sugar, 1 more Tbl flour and 1 Tbl butter and 1 cup more of rhubarb and I bake it in a 10 inch. This is a family favorite and many people who normally don't like rhubarb pies have loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This one is a very tasty pie, yet pretty thin; next time, I'll probably use a tart pan. I'll probably also try it with other fruits, such as apple, pear, apricot, ... The custard filling seem the be a reliable base for any kind of fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This pie was excellent. I followed the recipe as written and didn't have any trouble. I had never had rhubarb before, but this pie made me a fan. This recipe even got the "thumbs up" from my 87-year-old neighbour. She even said it was worth cheating on her diet for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe was pretty good! I am on a low carb diet so I did make some changes, leaving off the crust and replacing the sugar with splenda. Since no crust it baked about 40 minutes. I think it would be wonderful with strawberries also and I will definitely add more fruit next time. My first real 'cake' since I started this plan months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very good. I used a deep dish pie crust and still had a mess all over my oven. Would probably make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was a great change from plain rhubarb pie -- I added strawberies, too, from teh freezer - YUM!! Also - only use a 9-inch pie pan. The only one I would find was a 10-11 inch glass one and the pie was rather flat! (But delicious!) I can't wait to try it with fresh rhubarb again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I found this creamy pie to be a delicious change from the pies I usually buy at the supermarket. There was rhubarb growing in my neighbor's yard. She let me take just enough, and I cooked it up into this wonderful pie. It smelled so good cooking, I thought I had died and gone to heaven! I'd better tell the neighbor she needs to plant more rhubarb before I use it all up making more pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I used the strawberry instead of the rhubarb and it is excellent.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This is a very nice pie, my husband liked it. I prefer to make one crust pies & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
It was terrific, and that's coming from someone who doesn't really like rhubarb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States