Rhubarb Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I made this pie to take to a church picnic. The kudoes I got....wow! One man said he had eaten rhubarb pie all his life and this recipe far surpassed any he had ever eaten and would I please share the recipe with his wife. I have to admit, I thought it was excellent too. However, I too mixed the rhubarb with the custard mixture before putting it in the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Beautiful and delicious! When I cut up my rhubarb, I only had 2 cups, so I threw in some raspberries I had in the freezer. I tossed it all w/ the custard mixture before pouring into the crust. I used a shortening crust, made a lattice top, sprinkled w/ sugar. The custard really cuts the tart sweetness of the fruit. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I've had alot of rhubarb pie since childhood, and thought to try something different. The vanilla overpowered the rhubarb in my opinion. The texture was great....i would omit vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
So good. I made a crumb topping for the top pie crust (mixed melted butter, brown sugar, and flour to make crumbs) instead of making a double pastry crust. I like the contrast of the crumbs and custard. This is delicious. If you wanted, you could probably add an extra half a cup of chopped rhubarb for more of that tangy flavor, or maybe reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! Of course you must start with a good crust. I,too, mixed the sauce with the rhubarb before filling. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
WOW. This is the best pie I've *ever* had!!! I followed the suggestions of others and mixed the rhubarb with the custard before adding it to the pie crust. This would make a great recipe for any get-together and I will definitely be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
this is just the best recipe for rhubarb custard pie, very fast and easy, my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Easy recipe - just like Grandma's. I mixed the rhubarb and custard together before putting in the pan - don't know if that makes any difference. But great, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Easy to make. Had all the ingredients on hand. Great taste - sweet and tangy. A good way to use up your rhubarb! Lasts a long time in the fridge and doesn't get soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This was a very easy to make recipe,and was very delicious. My kids loved the recipe, the custard is not to sweet and offsets the rhubarb bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States