Rhubarb Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is a keeper! I diced the rhubarb and mixed everything together as called for in the recipe and it turned out great. The picture prodded me to be a bit more creative with my top crust which was fun as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Hands down - THE BEST EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This pie was a big hit but I gave it a 4 star rating because I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. Would have been much too sweet with more. Next time I will reduce the vanilla just a bit. I think it's needed to cut the bite of the rhubarb a bit, but was a bit too much. Definitely will use this recipe again. My husband says that his grandmother made the best rhubarb custard pie ever. Well, move over granny... I'm ready for the challenge and I think with this recipe and the two changes I mentioned I'll have the blue ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is delicious! Resist the temptation to add a lot more rhubarb - it won't fit with the filling. I accidentally forgot the butter and it still turned out great. I'll be using this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was pretty good, I just found it rather eggy tasting. I didn't have two pie crusts so I just baked it open, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very good and easy recipe. A little sweet for me, but everyone one else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
soupy and too tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Del Sisters
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Beautiful and delicious! When I cut up my rhubarb, I only had 2 cups, so I threw in some raspberries I had in the freezer. I tossed it all w/ the custard mixture before pouring into the crust. I used a shortening crust, made a lattice top, sprinkled w/ sugar. The custard really cuts the tart sweetness of the fruit. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
So good. I made a crumb topping for the top pie crust (mixed melted butter, brown sugar, and flour to make crumbs) instead of making a double pastry crust. I like the contrast of the crumbs and custard. This is delicious. If you wanted, you could probably add an extra half a cup of chopped rhubarb for more of that tangy flavor, or maybe reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States