Rhubarb Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I may have totally messed up by not measuring my rhubarb exactly and by using frozen rhubarb. but: 1. I ended up having about 3/4 cup extra custard mix that didn't fit in the deep dish pie crust (and more still dripped out to burn on the cookie sheet i put below the pie in the oven) 2. after 55 minutes in the oven, parts of the crust were nearly burnt and the custard hadn't set. The taste was too sweet also - disappointing after reading all the other reviews -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie McKellar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very delish -- a little too sweet, maybe use 1 3/4 c sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
My husband says "my pie" --this recipe is better than his mom's. High praise indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe! Creamy and delicious. I served it to company and got so many compliments. The only change I made was to add some sliced strawberries to the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is my new favorite pie! I think the custard causes the crust to crisp up, even on the bottom. I did use fat free half n half for 2 T of the milk. I will spray Pam on pie plate next time as it did stick some. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
My first ever rhubarb pie, turned out fantastic, my father loved it and confessed it better than my mom's, my husband who is not into sweets, loved it. I think the sweet of the custard and the tang of the the rhubard is the perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyliee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
this was a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! JUST LIKE MY MOM'S! DID EVERYTHING EXCEPT LEFT THE TOP CRUST OFF.....YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harvey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Everyone else loved this and exclaimed over how good it was. For me it was too much custard, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I could have entered a contest with this pie and Won! Followed the recipe exactly except for adding a little cinnamon to the custard part. Topped it with a lattace crust and some raw sugar and it came out of the oven looking beautiful. Hubby had two pieces and now he likes Rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States