Rhubarb Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
A great recipe! Like another reviewer, I mixed the rhubarb and the custard together before filling the crust, and it turned out ama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
husband loves rhubarb custard pie. no complaints on this and I have tried several. used crumb crust. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out great! I used frozen rhubarb I had , reduced the sugar a bit. and added some cinnamon. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsfromtheGrove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this for my father-in-law (he had been talking about rhubarb custard pie). Everyone loved it (even my husband who said he didn't usually like rhubarb). I just used a little less vanilla, and other than that I followed the recipe. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this twice in the last week or so and will likely continue to make it as long as fresh fruits are available in my corner of the world. It adapts very well to whatever fruit I happen to have on hand. I used only a bottom crust (Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site, with butter rather than shortening). The second time I made it I used 2 peaches, a half pint of blueberries, and about a cup or a cup and a half of finely diced rhubarb. I added freshly grated nutmeg to the custard. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup since I thought the peaches and blueberries would add a lot of sweetness. It was a bit tart so I served it with a drizzle of maple syrup (no more than a tablespoon) on each slice. SO good! I think in future I will intentionally keep the sugar very very low to be able to round out the sweetness with maple syrup at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best Rhubarb pie recipe out there! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really good. I didn't put 2 cups of sugar, just 1 and was a great flavor. If you like the rhubarb flavor you don't have to hide it with 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
suggestion Pour boiling water over rhubarb let sit 10-15 min. It will take less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My husband loves rhubarb; first I tried the fresh rhubarb pie and it was delicious. But this one was absolutely scrumptious - it was really easy to make and the custard was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a great pie, but even though I cut out 1/2 cup of sugar, everyone in my family still said it was too sweet. I wondered if I had gotten some extra sweet sugar, but that wasn't logical, so the next pie I make, I will only use 1 cup of sugar or just a scant over one cup. I can only imagine if I used 2 cups of sugar what the reaction from my children, who love sweets, would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States