Rhubarb Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this for my father-in-law (he had been talking about rhubarb custard pie). Everyone loved it (even my husband who said he didn't usually like rhubarb). I just used a little less vanilla, and other than that I followed the recipe. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this twice in the last week or so and will likely continue to make it as long as fresh fruits are available in my corner of the world. It adapts very well to whatever fruit I happen to have on hand. I used only a bottom crust (Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site, with butter rather than shortening). The second time I made it I used 2 peaches, a half pint of blueberries, and about a cup or a cup and a half of finely diced rhubarb. I added freshly grated nutmeg to the custard. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup since I thought the peaches and blueberries would add a lot of sweetness. It was a bit tart so I served it with a drizzle of maple syrup (no more than a tablespoon) on each slice. SO good! I think in future I will intentionally keep the sugar very very low to be able to round out the sweetness with maple syrup at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best Rhubarb pie recipe out there! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really good. I didn't put 2 cups of sugar, just 1 and was a great flavor. If you like the rhubarb flavor you don't have to hide it with 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
suggestion Pour boiling water over rhubarb let sit 10-15 min. It will take less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My husband loves rhubarb; first I tried the fresh rhubarb pie and it was delicious. But this one was absolutely scrumptious - it was really easy to make and the custard was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a great pie, but even though I cut out 1/2 cup of sugar, everyone in my family still said it was too sweet. I wondered if I had gotten some extra sweet sugar, but that wasn't logical, so the next pie I make, I will only use 1 cup of sugar or just a scant over one cup. I can only imagine if I used 2 cups of sugar what the reaction from my children, who love sweets, would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. I'd never tried rhubarb custard before, but after hearing about it I just had to make it. I ended up being a little short on the rhubarb--it was still delicious, but I think the extra tartness would have been perfect. I stressed about dicing the rhubarb finely, but the bigger chunks made for a nice texture. I only did a bottom crust, and my oven runs a bit hot, so the custard formed this amazing crispy sugary layer on top, like a creme brulee. I've seen some reviews say to mix the rhubarb in, but it seemed to do it on its own. I also followed other reviewers' advice and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. I think it could even be cut further, as it's pretty sweet right now. Definitely my new favorite use for rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
An excellent recipe! I only used about 1.5 cups of sugar (it was still plenty sweet) and omitted both crusts to ease some of the calories but it still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I may have totally messed up by not measuring my rhubarb exactly and by using frozen rhubarb. but: 1. I ended up having about 3/4 cup extra custard mix that didn't fit in the deep dish pie crust (and more still dripped out to burn on the cookie sheet i put below the pie in the oven) 2. after 55 minutes in the oven, parts of the crust were nearly burnt and the custard hadn't set. The taste was too sweet also - disappointing after reading all the other reviews -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States