Rhubarb Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe for my July barbeque..it was a soggy , yucky mess I have been looking for years for the recipe to duplicate a rhubarb custard pie I tasted back in the mid "80s...it was firm and juicy yet the custard part had a distinct layer on the bottom. the bottom crust was flaky and almost caramelized. this recipe is a no go for me.. not unless you want Rhubarb soup in a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe, tasted just like the one my mom used to make. I made it exactly like the recipe and it was perfect. I made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Wow~ Great pie. Very easy to make and super delicious! I added 1 Tbsp of tapioca to avoid the runny fruit problem and made mini empanada pies out of the filling. Really wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
It's great as is, but this time when I made it I tried something new! I used the whole eggs, not just the yolks. I added a drop of vanilla, zested a clementine, and sprinkled in some sea salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. I doubled the flour and added 1/4c milk like my mom used to do. Finally, I added 1 1/2c fresh, ripe strawberries. My kids made a lattice for the top crust. WOW!!! My family went bonkers for this pie! The flavor really has depth and character. I would suggest decreasing the sugar because the ripe strawberries made it a lot sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by June Whitehorn
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is everything my mom used to make. I was adventurous with the recipe one day and wondered what exactly I could use this 'custard pie' recipe for. I ended up making a berry custard pie (strawberries, blackberries, raspberries and blueberries frozen store bought mix), substituting said berry mix for rhubarb and adding orange zest (about one teaspoon fresh grated). Amazing stuff, truly. This recipe is ridiculously versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this pie and my husband said, "Why have we been together 9 years and this is the first time you've made this?" and then proceeded to inhale half of it. I was raised eating rhubarb pie (no strawberries added pleeeease) so when I saw the pretty rhubarb in the store the other day I just felt like making one. Glad I did! The "custard" part makes the sugary juice sort of creamy, which is a nice addition but doesn't take away from the yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Although I used Pillsbury ready-made crusts for this recipe, the filling itself was followed to the letter. I am a real lover of rhubarb, and this recipe was absolutely delicious. I took it to work, and my male co-workers were ecstatic about the pie. My biggest problem now is finding more rhubarb. A classic recipe to be added to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars just because it's not what I was looking for. It didn't turn out "custardly"...if that makes any sense. It is delicious and the texture was great. My daughter loved it and my wife conceded that it was pretty good considering that rhubarb is supposed to be cattle food. I'm still trying to find my Grandma Fox's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was Awesome! I love the custard taste nd the tart but sweet flavor, diefinately a fav in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States