Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very sweet, but good. I followed some suggestions and only put 1/2 C of butter in the topping and it wasn't enough. Maybe 3/4 C would be better. I also added a little cinnamon to the topping and about 3/4 C of sugar. I only had 3 C of rhubarb so I baked this in a 8x8 inch pan. It fit perfectly, but there was a lot of topping - which is my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was excellent, but it didn`t need quite as much sugar, I halved the sugar and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I ended up with way too much topping, but I had a deep, round dish instead of a long, shallow one. But this was scrumptious! It is amazing still warm, with vanilla ice cream, but it is also great chilled. I doubled the rhubarb, used 1 1/4 c. white sugar and added a pint of fresh strawberries. I used frozen rhubarb, but thawing it in the oven for five minutes before using it helped. Good recipe! Made again: 1 Lb each of rhubarb and strawberries, 1 cup sugar, half the topping...and it is still delicious, though a little more tart. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used the suggestions: twice the fruit, the extra sugar, and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HINES9010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaButterfly
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I was given a boat load of rhubarb and decided to try this recipe and donated it back to the person giving the rhubarb. The Crunch was so fantastic they said it was the best tasting ever! I made a few changes to the recipe...Instead of using refined white sugar I used Pure Cane sugar. I switched the regular flour for Spelt and instead of brown sugar I used Coconut Palm Sugar. I left all the amounts the same. The results were purely outstanding! I will definitely make this again. I have some rhubarb left in my freezer. It will make for a wonderful last minute dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaButterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
JUST MADE IT AND SERVED IT WITH VANILLA ICE CREAM....YUMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micky Azzam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Awesome! I added some apples too and it was great. I also doubled the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Love it! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Followed other reviews and used 6 cups rhubarb plus 4 T flour, but also added 1 cup blackberries and one chopped, peeled apple. Used the recipe's topping measurements, but added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t salt, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, plus used a mix of whole wheat pastry flour and all purpose flour for topping. I didn't like the blackberries or the apples I added so next time I would just use rhubarb. **The topping was fantastic after I added the salt, cinnamon, and nuts-I didn't think there was too much butter. The softness of the butter affects the topping texture. My butter was not melted, but really soft. Thanks for the basic recipe and thanks to the reviewers for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
FANTASTIC RECIPE... if you alter it... which is the reason I only give it one star. Someone should submit this in altered form because you definitely need at least 6 cups of rhubarb and I used less sugar and less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States