Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My mom says this is the best rhubarb recipe she has ever tasted. She grew up with rhubarb pies in the midwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this for a family reunion and received raves from everyone! I did make the suggested changes and used 6 cups fruit and only 1/2 c. butter for the topping. Also added a little salt to the topping mix. No changes to any other ingredients. Made two pans--one was all rhubarb and the other was a mix of rhubarb, apple and strawberry. Again, no changes to flour or sugar amounts. Both turned out awesome. This one goes into my recipe box as a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this recipe with 3 cups rhubarb, but added 3 cups thawed frozen strawberries, added 4 tbsp flour instead of 3, and used 1 and a half cups of sugar instead of 1. It turned out perfect! Not too sweet and not too tart (which I love) I loved the flavor and the texture although I would put more crumbs on the side next time and push it down harder as it leaked out a little on the sides. I used a 9x13 glass pan sprayed with pam non stick spray. Cooked on "quick bake" instead of regular bake in a gas oven for 35 minutes. I tried it hot now and its delicious!! Saved in my recipe box for sure! Would be great with vanilla ice cream as someone suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was delicious. I doubled the fruit and the topping. It was just like grandmothers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed the suggestions that others did - 6 cups of rhubarb and 1.5 cups of sugar...and it was divine! My husband *loves* rhubarb and said this was a definite keeper! Ice cream or plain.... it always taste like more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Delicious! I doubled the rhubarb and the flour it was mixed with, but not the sugar. The topping was made as written. Next time I will add some cinnamon to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe as written and even cooked it an extra 5 minutes but the topping never browned and tasted as if it had not been in the oven at all- 1 1/2 C flour and 1. C oatmeal uncooked. I think it was because the rhubard juice is suppose to bubble up but it never did. The 3 cups of rhubard cooked down to 1/4" at the bottom of the 9 x 13 pan. After reading the 150 comments on this recipe all adding more rhubarb,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wonderful! I only had 3 cups of rhubarb so I cut the topping in half and baked it in a smaller pan. Added a dash of cinnamon and 1/4 c. chopped pecans to the topping. It was fantastic. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Carolyn- This is a wonderful recipe! I did read some of the reviews and its unfortunate that some of the 1 star reviews show up at the top. After reading the 1 star review, I believe they should be removed only because this recipe says RHUBARB CRUNCH, NOT RHUBARB STRAWBERRY CRUNCH. Just a note to people leaving reviews. Rating someone's recipe low because you did not follow it, is just plain not nice. There is no call for strawberries because it is not strawberry rhubarb crunch... Duh! We made this and it turned out perfect! The topping was perfect, even like the picture. Not sure why other "cooks" had such a difficult time? Oh well, everyone is a critic. 5 stars all the way, I love the tart with a hint of sweet and obviously by looking at the recipe, this is what it is supposed to taste like. Everyone I shared the dessert with loved it! Thank you for sharing this with us. Wouldn't change a thing on this RHUBARB Crunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I also used 6 cups rhubarb, 2 cups sugar, 5 T flour. For the topping I added cinnamon. I put some of the topping on the bottom of the pan. I would use less butter. Maybe 1/2 or 3/4 cup of butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Halverson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States