Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Remembering that my mom loves rhubarb, though I've never had rhubarb crunch, I knew there had to be such a thing, so I settled on this one from allrecipes. It's awesome! As many reviewers recommmend, go with six cups of rhubarb and only 1/2 cup of butter, which provides more than adequate butter flavor for the cruch level. My only (minor) complaint is that the crunch level turned out thicker than expected. Next time, I may only use enough crunch mixture to create a thin layer, so it is not as thick as it was this time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
i made Rhubarb Crunch , it was yummy Good . my husband loved it ,it's even better with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laveta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was my first rhubarb cooking experience .. AWESOME! Thank You for sharing! Just the right amount of topping to mix well with the rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great with 4 cups of rhubarb and 3/4 cups of sugar in a 8 x 8 pan. I only used 1/2 of the topping ingredients and it was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was my first taste of rhubarb. I only had enough to half the recipe. I thought it was AWESOME! Rhubarb is my new favorite. This is a great recipe. My husband asked for more but since I only had half the amount, he didnt get seconds. I beat him to it. Reheats great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
The flavor balance was excellent, but the juice from my rhubarb soaked up into the "crunch" layer and made it wet. Next time I think I'll bake the crunch alone on a cookie sheet then sprinkle it generously on top of rhubarb cooked on stovetop and served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is so good. I loved it and my husband loved it too. If you like rhubarb try this recipe and serve it warm with a little bit of vanilla ice cream and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was very good, I used 6 C. rhubard and 2 C. sugar plus 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. salt. I also sprinkled some sugar and cinnamon on the top. My husband loves rhubard so it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe is FIVE stars with the following revisions: double the rhubarb, add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp salt. Chopped walnuts would also be a nice addition. This recipe is now in my family's all-time favorites cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I spent many summers in Sweden when I grew up and this recipe reminds me of those summers with my grandma! This is a great recipe, but I did in fact follow the suggestions to increase the Rhubarb to 6 cups and I added just a bit of salt (1/4 tsp) as well to offset the tartness a little! Fantastic with vanilla ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States