Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I love rhubarb/crunch/crisp dishes, but this turned out WAY too sweet even after I changed the rhubarb amount to 5 cups! Plus the topping is so much that it seemed to overpower the rhubarb part of the dish. Not sure I would use this recipe again. Unless cutting down on the sugar and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This recipe is ok, only one thing, like the others have said, you really have to modify the ammount of rhubarb and butter you put in. It is also a great idea to put in about 1/4 tsp of all spice and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I am not a rhubarb fan, probaly wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
With the modifications this recipe was great. I doubled the fruit, and added 1 cup of packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar for the filling. I should of left it at 1 cup as that is plenty. I also added about 2/3 cup of butter like some suggested. Personally I think it needs the full cup as it was slightly dry. Great, simple recipe and I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I love rhubarb, and this is a great, easy recipe! I used 6 cups rhubarb, 1/4 t allspice, just 3/4 c butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
We had never had rhubarb before, and a neighbor gave us some so i tried this recipe!! My husband is now going to put rhubarb in our garden! He said if he had known it was so good, he would have had me make it years ago!! Thanks for a delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I made this recipe 'as is' and thought it was great. I like it really crispy and this was, even df was a fan and ate way more than his share! Will make again (soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My 'crunch' actually came out fabulous, but I changed it- thus the 4 stars. I used about 2 cups rhubarb and added a small bag of frozen raspberries & about 2 cups of frozen peaches to. I still ended up with about 1/2 the recipe of the crunch 'stuff' that I didn't use! But my goodness, it tasted fantastic! I will now use this new/revised recipe as my fruit crunch! (I can't imagine using all of the flour mixture with so little rhubarb!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made this with a couple of my friends and it turned out great! we did change it a little, we put 4 cups of rhubarb instead of 3, just because thats how much we had, and we wanted to use it all up. we also added a little bit of cinnomon to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ghetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Delicious! Someone at the potluck actually asked me if there were strawberries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Deliciously addictive! I DOULBED THE AMOUNT OF RHUBARB, however, which seems to be a better ratio of smooth and crunchy textures. This is our family's favorite way to use the abundant rhubarb from our garden...plus it's a fast and easy dessert with little preparation. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States