Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was great. I did follow the other suggestion about adding more fruit by adding strawberries as well as rhubarb. I used 1/2 the amount of butter suggested and a dash of mace and allspice in the crumb recipe. This is a keeper recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheri
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe for a rhubarb only crisp. 1 cup of butter is too much for the topping. It is much better reduced to 3/4 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I thought this was really good. I increased rhubarb to 6 cups, and 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I could have used a little more sugar, I don't know if it was more sour because it was the first pick of the year or what it was. I thought this was one of the best rhubarb recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My first time of doing rhubarb, but my husband loves it, so I was looking for recipes and found this one, and read the reviews and thought I would try it, I used 6 cup of rhubarb and 3/4 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of butter and used a baking dish size 8x11 1/2, it turned out delicious, my husband loved it and my sister and husband came by and thought it was wonderful. I will make it again and it makes me want a rhubarb patch. My favorite thing about it was the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had to do a little more than 3 cups and also I had to add a tsp water to the rhubarb mixtures. Other than that it was a great recipe! Brings the family closer together with every bite. However, when it's almost gone it might be torn apart as siblings fight to devour the last piece. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venango, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was a great recipe. After reading other reviews, I've come to the conclusion that the ratio of fruit to crunch is a personal preference. I would say use this recipe as a base and modify it to your taste. I used 5c of rhubarb made the topping as directed. The flavor and texture of the crunch part is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I opted to use 6 cups as 3 is way too little. The amount of topping is very generous so upping the rhubarb was a great tip. I made this for a BBQ and it was literally gone in 5 minutes! The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good flavor, but like other reviewers have mentioned there is way too much 'crust' and too little rhubarb. We did 4 cups of rhubarb, and probably need to do 6 cups. I will make again with this change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this but didn't have enough rhubarb and didn't cut back the crunch factor so it seemed like way too much sugar and crunch...not enough fruit. I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
family loved the recipe, only change made was to use splenda instead of sugar and used only 1/2 cup. turned out great and not too tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States