Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good flavor, but like other reviewers have mentioned there is way too much 'crust' and too little rhubarb. We did 4 cups of rhubarb, and probably need to do 6 cups. I will make again with this change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this but didn't have enough rhubarb and didn't cut back the crunch factor so it seemed like way too much sugar and crunch...not enough fruit. I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
family loved the recipe, only change made was to use splenda instead of sugar and used only 1/2 cup. turned out great and not too tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
sorry cant rate it because I cant find rhubarb where I live. Can it be grown in middle Ga.? Stores don't even sell it frozen here. I do live in a small town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
add 3 cups of rhubarb 1/2 cup more sugar 1 pt. of strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I had to read the reviews again and felt some were unfair,Yes I did add more rhubarb only because I love the stuff and I did lower the sugar because I love the tart flavor of rhubarb.I use to pull it out of my grandparents garden ,rinse it off and I had sour candy before they came out with sweet tarts, The tops are thick and that is a personal thing,as with the amount of butter and sugar,as for adding other berries to it,it then becomes strawbery rhubarb crunch and not rhubarb crunch. When you change a recipe to your own taste and ideals of what you like should'nt take away from someones recipes. There will always be changes in recipes even though handled down from moms to their children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was way too greasy. May have been ok with a lot less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe doesn't have nearly enough rhubarb and way too much butter. I should have read the reviews. They don't match the rating at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Remembering that my mom loves rhubarb, though I've never had rhubarb crunch, I knew there had to be such a thing, so I settled on this one from allrecipes. It's awesome! As many reviewers recommmend, go with six cups of rhubarb and only 1/2 cup of butter, which provides more than adequate butter flavor for the cruch level. My only (minor) complaint is that the crunch level turned out thicker than expected. Next time, I may only use enough crunch mixture to create a thin layer, so it is not as thick as it was this time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
i made Rhubarb Crunch , it was yummy Good . my husband loved it ,it's even better with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laveta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States